H.R. No. 1531

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The wedding anniversary of two outstanding Texans 2 who have shared 60 happy and rewarding years of marriage is truly a 3 notable occasion; and

WHEREAS, James D. Ross, Sr., and Billie Ross of Midland are commemorating this event in their lives in June 2003, when they will celebrate their 60 years of mutual affection and devotion with a family cruise to Alaska; and

8 WHEREAS, United in marriage on April 16, 1943, in Rockwall, 9 Texas, the couple have seen their relationship grow in love and 10 respect with each passing year; and

WHEREAS, Mr. Ross is a certified public accountant who was a 11 12 valued employee of U.S. Steel Corporation early in his career and retired as president of Tipperary Corporation in 1989; Mr. Ross is 13 14 currently associated with Hy-Bon Engineering Company, the board of directors of Texas Mutual Insurance Company, and a number of civic 15 and professional organizations, while Mrs. Ross is a dedicated 16 homemaker and an active member of the Midland County Republican 17 18 Women; and

WHEREAS, The Rosses are blessed with three children, Janet Antonson, James D. Ross, Jr., and Jonathan Ross, all of whom have benefited immeasurably from their parents' unfailing love and guidance; and

23 WHEREAS, For six decades, Mr. and Mrs. Ross have enjoyed a 24 union filled with many wonderful times and joyful family memories,

1

H.R. No. 1531

1 and their relationship remains a source of inspiration to the 2 family and many friends of this fortunate pair; now, therefore, be 3 it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas
Legislature hereby congratulate James D. Ross, Sr., and Billie Ross
on their 60th wedding anniversary and extend to them sincere best
wishes for continued happiness; and, be it further

8 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 9 prepared for Mr. and Mrs. Ross as an expression of high regard by 10 the Texas House of Representatives.

Craddick

H.R. No. 1531

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1531 was adopted by the House on May 30, 2003, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House