H.R. No. 1533

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Howard Fredrick Linn has been actively involved with 2 the Boy Scouts of America for more than four decades, and his 3 exemplary service to this esteemed organization truly merits 4 special legislative recognition; and

5 WHEREAS, A former member of Cub Scout Pack 3087 and Boy Scout 6 troops 87 and 727, Dr. Linn earned the rank of Eagle Scout in 1961, 7 and went on to serve as the intramural/scouting chairman of Alpha 8 Phi Omega Service Fraternity at East Texas State University; and

9 WHEREAS, Over the ensuing years, this esteemed gentleman 10 continued his involvement in scouting as a scoutmaster, assistant 11 scoutmaster, and camp program director; in addition, he has held 12 leadership positions in the organization on the district, state, 13 and national levels, most recently as the chairman of the Health and 14 Safety Committee for the district and for the Circle Ten Council 15 Annual Scout Show; and

16 WHEREAS, Currently the scoutmaster of Troop 1035, Dr. Linn's 17 commitment to scouting has yielded an enviable record of 18 accomplishment, including receipt of the Silver Beaver Award and 19 membership in the Order of the Arrow Vigil Honor; and

20 WHEREAS, Howard Fredrick Linn has consistently exhibited the 21 best and finest of scouting's ideals; he has upheld to the highest 22 level the principles exemplified by the scouting creed, and it is 23 indeed appropriate to honor him at this time; now, therefore, be it 24 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas

1

Legislature hereby commend Howard Fredrick Linn on his many years of service to the Boy Scouts of America and extend to him sincere best wishes for continued success and happiness; and, be it further RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be prepared for Dr. Linn as an expression of high regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

Wong

H.R. No. 1533

H.R. No. 1533

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1533 was adopted by the House on May 27, 2003, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House