RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, July 12, 2003, will indeed be a special day for 2 Melissa Marfin and Jonathan English, for on that day they will

exchange their wedding vows and embark on a new life together as

husband and wife; and

WHEREAS, The couple met when Melissa was talked into going to a club by a coworker for a Plow Monday show; little did she know that the cute lead singer of this local band would one day become her

8 husband; and

3

4

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

WHEREAS, The pair later got to know one another while working together as house sergeants at the State Capitol, and they became good friends before realizing that the relationship was destined for more; and

WHEREAS, When the two began dating, they knew right away that marriage was in their future; reminiscent of a romantic movie, they became engaged on November 2, 2002, when Jonathan surprised Melissa with a marriage proposal at the top of the Empire State Building in New York City; and

WHEREAS, The couple will exchange their wedding vows at One World Theater in Austin, bringing family and friends together to witness an important turning point in their lives; this blessed event will mark a profound deepening of a relationship that has grown in love, respect, and mutual regard with each passing day, and it is indeed appropriate that this fortunate couple be given heartfelt support and encouragement at this time; now, therefore,

- 1 be it
- 2 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas
- 3 Legislature hereby congratulate Melissa Ann Marfin and Jonathan
- 4 Peter English on the joyous occasion of their wedding and extend to
- 5 them warmest best wishes for a lifetime of happiness together; and,
- 6 be it further
- 7 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 8 prepared for the couple as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 9 House of Representatives.

Brown of Kaufman Riddle

Craddick Geren Mercer Allen Giddings Merritt Alonzo Goodman Miller Bailey Goolsby Moreno of Harris Griggs Baxter Moreno of El Paso Berman Grusendorf Morrison Guillen Bohac Mowery Naishtat Bonnen Gutierrez Haggerty Branch Nixon Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Hamilton Noriega Hamric Oliveira Hardcastle Olivo Burnam Harper-Brown Callegari Paxton Campbell Hartnett Pena Heflin Canales Phillips Hegar Pickett Capelo Hiĺderbran Pitts Casteel Castro Hill Puente Quintanilla Hochberg Chavez Chisum Hodge Raymond Christian Homer Reyna Coleman Riddle Норе Cook of Navarro Hopson Ritter Cook of Colorado Howard Rodriguez Corte Hughes Rose Crabb Hunter Seaman Crownover Smith of Tarrant Hupp Davis of Harris Smith of Harris Isett Jones of Lubbock Jones of Bexar Jones of Dallas Davis of Dallas Smithee Dawson Solis Delisi Solomons Keel Stick Denny Deshotel Keffer of Dallas Swinford Keffer of Eastland Driver Talton Dukes King Taylor Kolkhorst Dunnam Telford Dutton Krusee Thompson Edwards Kuempel Truitt Laney Eiland Turner Eissler Laubenberg Uresti Elkins Lewis Van Arsdale Ellis Luna Villarreal West Escobar Mabry Wilson Farabee Madden Farrar Marchant Wise Martinez Fischer Wohlgemuth Flores McCall Wolens Flynn McClendon Gallego Wong Woolley Garza McReynolds Gattis

Zedler

Menendez

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1535 was adopted by the House on May 30, 2003, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House