H.R. No. 1541

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Blanca Hernandez, a language arts assistant at 2 Garza-Pena Elementary School, has been recognized with the Betty 3 Scharff Memorial Award from the Help One Student To Succeed (HOSTS) 4 Learning program; and

5 WHEREAS, A tribute to co-developer and longtime child 6 educator Betty Scharff, this special award is the highest honor 7 given by HOSTS Learning, which is a leading provider of 8 research-based learning systems in reading and mathematics for 9 grades kindergarten through 12; and

10 WHEREAS, The Betty Scharff Memorial Awards are granted each 11 year at the HOSTS Conference to individuals and organizations who 12 have made outstanding contributions to the educational welfare of 13 children in HOSTS language arts, math, and Spanish; and

14 WHEREAS, Ms. Hernandez was recognized as Language Arts Assistant of the Year for her tireless efforts in the HOSTS 15 16 mentoring program at Garza**-**Pena Elementary School; а para-professional in the Pharr-San Juan-Alamo ISD for 24 years and 17 18 a HOSTS lab manager for 5 years, Ms. Hernandez oversees the Garza-Pena Elementary School volunteers helping HOSTS students who 19 are learning academic and life skills and practicing their oral 20 21 language; and

22 WHEREAS, An able leader with a warm personality and cheerful 23 disposition, Ms. Hernandez has benefited countless young people by 24 providing them with support and an excellent environment for

1

H.R. No. 1541

1 learning; now, therefore, be it

2 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas 3 Legislature hereby congratulate Blanca Hernandez for receiving a 4 Betty Scharff Memorial Award from the HOSTS Learning program and 5 extend to her best wishes for the future; and, be it further

6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 7 prepared for Ms. Hernandez as an expression of high regard by the 8 Texas House of Representatives.

Wise

H.R. No. 1541

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1541 was adopted by the House on May 30, 2003, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House