RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The passing of the Reverend Oliver Charlton "O. C."
- 2 Johnson, Sr., on January 21, 2003, at the age of 67, has deeply
- 3 saddened not only his family but also his many friends and admirers
- 4 in the Houston community; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Born on February 20, 1935, in the Bayou City to the
- 6 Reverend Leroy Johnson and Pearl Johnson, he was particularly close
- 7 to his uncle and aunt, Ben and Inez Johnson, who helped raise him;
- 8 he was a graduate of Booker T. Washington Senior High School and
- 9 went on to earn a four-year certificate from Bishop College in
- 10 Dallas and a bachelor's degree in theology from Union Theological
- 11 Baptist Seminary; and
- 12 WHEREAS, He answered the call to the ministry in 1958 and
- 13 pastored several Texas churches over the course of his career
- 14 before embarking on his 38-year tenure as the spiritual leader of
- 15 Lyons Unity Missionary Baptist Church in Houston; and
- WHEREAS, A gifted vocalist as well as a dynamic preacher,
- 17 Reverend Johnson was featured on many religious recordings,
- including "Poor Jesus," "Wonderful," and "Precious Lord"; and
- 19 WHEREAS, This highly regarded clergyman worked in behalf of
- 20 his faith with both the Home Mission Board of the National
- 21 Missionary Baptist Convention of America and the Independent
- 22 Missionary Baptist General Association of Texas, which he had
- 23 served as secretary; and
- 24 WHEREAS, Reverend Johnson married the former Faye Marie

- 1 Bennett on June 15, 1957, and the couple were richly blessed with a
- 2 fine family including three daughters, two sons who have answered
- 3 the call to the ministry, and 13 grandchildren; and
- WHEREAS, Oliver Charlton Johnson, Sr., was a faithful pastor
- 5 and devoted family man who inspired the members of his church and
- 6 community; he will long be remembered for his compassion, devotion,
- 7 and service to God; now, therefore, be it
- 8 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas
- 9 Legislature hereby pay tribute to the life of the Reverend Oliver
- 10 Charlton "O. C." Johnson, Sr., and extend sincere sympathy to his
- 11 wife, Faye Marie Johnson; to his daughters and sons-in-law,
- 12 Carletta and Edmond Moss, Andrea and Reginald Johnson, and Carla
- 13 Faye and Durst Roland Cage; to his sons and daughters-in-law, the
- 14 Reverend O. C. Johnson, Jr., and Cathy Johnson, and the Reverend
- Orestes Johnson and Stephanie Johnson; to his grandchildren; to his
- 16 siblings, Katie Murchison and her husband, O. C., Elizabeth Faye
- 17 Duncan, and Glen and Eddie Johnson; and to all those who mourn the
- 18 passing of this beloved man; and, be it further
- 19 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 20 prepared for his family and that when the Texas House of
- 21 Representatives adjourns this day, it do so in memory of the
- 22 Reverend Oliver Charlton Johnson, Sr.

Dutton

Craddick Geren Mercer Allen Giddings Merritt Alonzo Goodman Miller Bailey Goolsby Moreno of Harris Griggs Baxter Moreno of El Paso Berman Grusendorf Morrison Guillen Bohac Mowery Naishtat Bonnen Gutierrez Haggerty Branch Nixon Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Hamilton Noriega Hamric Oliveira Hardcastle Olivo Burnam Harper-Brown Callegari Paxton Campbell Hartnett Pena Heflin Canales Phillips Hegar Pickett Capelo Hilderbran Pitts Casteel Castro Hill Puente Quintanilla Hochberg Chavez Chisum Hodge Raymond Christian Homer Reyna Coleman Riddle Норе Cook of Navarro Hopson Ritter Cook of Colorado Howard Rodriguez Corte Hughes Rose Crabb Hunter Seaman Crownover Smith of Tarrant Hupp Davis of Harris Smith of Harris Isett Jones of Lubbock Jones of Bexar Jones of Dallas Davis of Dallas Smithee Dawson Solis Delisi Solomons Keel Stick Denny Deshotel Keffer of Dallas Swinford Driver Keffer of Eastland Talton Dukes King Taylor Kolkhorst Dunnam Telford Dutton Krusee Thompson Edwards Kuempel Truitt Laney Eiland Turner Eissler Laubenberg Uresti Elkins Lewis Van Arsdale Ellis Luna Villarreal West Escobar Mabry Wilson Farabee Madden Farrar Marchant Wise Martinez Fischer Wohlgemuth Flores McCall Wolens Flynn McClendon Gallego Wong Woolley Garza McReynolds Gattis

Zedler

Menendez

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1550 was unanimously adopted by a rising vote of the House on May 28, 2003.

Chief Clerk of the House