RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The talented actress, emcee, director, and producer 2 Detria Marie Ward is also a conscientious citizen, and her valuable

work in the Houston community truly deserves special commendation;

4 and

day-to-day basis; and

WHEREAS, Ms. Ward is a graduate of Texas Southern University
who currently shares her outstanding leadership and organizational
skills as general manager for Music World, Incorporated, where she
is responsible for all aspects of company operations on a

WHEREAS, Ms. Ward has devoted countless hours to volunteering in her community, and among her many sterling accomplishments has been the instrumental role she played in helping to raise more than \$250,000 for the Special Olympics; reflecting her generosity of spirit and compassion for others, she has been the recipient of numerous service awards from such organizations as the Black United Fund of Texas, the M. D. Anderson Cancer Center, the Houston Economic Development Council, and the Houston Job Training Partnership Council, to name but a few; and

WHEREAS, A distinguished member of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Ms. Ward has made significant contributions in the areas of education, health, social services, and business throughout Houston, touching the lives of many and earning the lasting respect and admiration of her fellow Texans; now, therefore, be it

24 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas

H.R. No. 1552

- 1 Legislature hereby honor Detria Marie Ward for her extensive
- 2 community service and extend to her warmest best wishes for
- 3 continued success and happiness; and, be it further
- 4 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 5 prepared for Ms. Ward as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 6 House of Representatives.

Dutton

H.R. No. 1552

Craddick Geren Mercer Allen Giddings Merritt Alonzo Goodman Miller Bailey Goolsby Moreno of Harris Griggs Baxter Moreno of El Paso Berman Grusendorf Morrison Guillen Bohac Mowery Naishtat Bonnen Gutierrez Haggerty Branch Nixon Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Hamilton Noriega Hamric Oliveira Hardcastle Olivo Burnam Harper-Brown Callegari Paxton Campbell Hartnett Pena Heflin Canales Phillips Hegar Pickett Capelo Hilderbran Pitts Casteel Castro Hill Puente Quintanilla Hochberg Chavez Chisum Hodge Raymond Christian Homer Reyna Coleman Riddle Норе Cook of Navarro Hopson Ritter Cook of Colorado Howard Rodriguez Corte Hughes Rose Crabb Hunter Seaman Crownover Smith of Tarrant Hupp Davis of Harris Smith of Harris Isett Jones of Lubbock Jones of Bexar Jones of Dallas Davis of Dallas Smithee Dawson Solis Delisi Solomons Keel Stick Denny Deshotel Keffer of Dallas Swinford Keffer of Eastland Driver Talton Dukes King Taylor Kolkhorst Dunnam Telford Dutton Krusee Thompson Edwards Kuempel Truitt Laney Eiland Turner Eissler Laubenberg Uresti Elkins Lewis Van Arsdale Ellis Luna Villarreal West Escobar Mabry Wilson Farabee Madden Farrar Marchant Wise Martinez Fischer Wohlgemuth Flores McCall Wolens Flynn McClendon Gallego Wong Woolley Garza McReynolds Gattis

Zedler

Menendez

H.R. No. 1552

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1552 was adopted by the House on May 28, 2003, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House