## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Country music sensation Miranda Lambert of Lindale
- 2 had already gained broad support in the Lone Star State from touring
- 3 on the Texas music circuit, and when she appeared on the Nashville
- 4 Star television program and won third prize, her acclaim grew to
- 5 national proportions; and
- 6 WHEREAS, An honest, true-to-Texas singer and songwriter, Ms.
- 7 Lambert released her first album, self-titled Miranda Lambert, in
- 8 September 2001, and her singles "Texas Pride" and "Somebody Else"
- 9 enjoyed lengthy stays on the Texas music chart; in the grand finale
- 10 of Nashville Star, Ms. Lambert sang an extraordinary duet of "Bye,
- 11 Bye" with Jo Dee Messina to claim third place; and
- 12 WHEREAS, Ms. Lambert is undoubtedly embarking upon an
- 13 exciting and immensely successful musical career, and this bright
- 14 young star may be certain that her greatest fans come from her home
- 15 state of Texas; now, therefore, be it
- RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas
- 17 Legislature hereby congratulate Miranda Lambert on her outstanding
- 18 third place finish on *Nashville Star* and extend to her best wishes
- 19 for good fortune and happiness in the years to come; and, be it
- 20 further
- 21 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 22 prepared for Ms. Lambert as an expression of high regard by the
- 23 Texas House of Representatives.

Merritt

## H.R. No. 1592

Craddick Geren Mercer Merritt Allen Giddings Alonzo Goodman Miller Moreno of Harris Bailey Goolsby Moreno of El Paso Baxter Griggs Grusendorf Berman Morrison Mowery Guillen Bohac Bonnen Gutierrez Naishtat Nixon Branch Haggerty Brown of Kaufman Hamilton Noriega Brown of Brazos Hamric Oliveira Burnam Hardcastle Olivo Harper-Brown Hartnett Callegari Paxton Pena Campbell Canales Heflin Phillips Capelo Hegar Pickett Hiĺderbran Casteel Pitts Castro Hill Puente Hochberg Chavez Quintanilla Chisum Hodge Raymond Christian Homer Reyna Hope Hopson Howard Coleman Riddle Cook of Navarro Ritter Cook of Colorado Rodriguez Corte Hughes Rose Crabb Hunter Seaman Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Crownover Hupp Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Isett Jones of Lubbock Smithee Jones of Bexar Dawson Solis Delisi Jones of Dallas Solomons Denny Keel Stick Keffer of Dallas Deshotel Swinford Keffer of Eastland Driver Talton Dukes King Taylor Kolkhorst Dunnam Telford Dutton Krusee Thompson Edwards Kuempel Truitt Eiland Turner Laney Eissler Laubenberg Uresti Elkins Lewis Van Arsdale Ellis Villarreal Luna Mabry Escobar West Farabee Madden Wilson Marchant Wise Farrar Martinez Fischer Flores Wohlgemuth Flynn McCall Wolens McClendon Gallego Wong Garza McReynolds Woolley Gattis Menendez Zedler

H.R. No. 1592

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1592 was adopted by the House on May 29, 2003, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House