H.R. No. 1693

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Mary Cantu has been named Elementary Teacher of the 1 2

Year for 2002-2003 by the Progreso Independent School District

3 (ISD); and

5

6

7

8

12

18

19

20

22

WHEREAS, The award acknowledges teachers who are creative and 4

successful with students, have excellent classroom organizational

skills, present subject matter in meaningful ways, promote positive

learning environments for all students, and work well with

colleagues, parents, and the community, and Mrs. Cantu truly meets

each of these criteria; and 9

WHEREAS, A graduate of The University of Texas--Pan American, 10

11 Mrs. Cantu earned a bachelor's degree in general business, and

after gaining interest in teaching through helping her friends who

were teachers, she began teaching in 1991; and 13

14 WHEREAS, A dedicated educator, she teaches science, math, and

graders, and social studies to fourth is 15 a University

Interscholastic League academic coach for math; and 16

WHEREAS, Endeavoring to inspire a passion for learning and 17

equip young Texans with the skills and knowledge necessary for

success is truly a commendable undertaking; during her tenure with

Progreso ISD, Mary Cantu has earned a special place in the hearts of

21 many of her students and the respect and admiration of her

colleagues and friends, and she truly merits legislative

23 recognition for her most recent achievement; now, therefore, be it

24 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas

H.R. No. 1693

- 1 Legislature hereby congratulate Mary Cantu on being named 2002-2003
- 2 Elementary Teacher of the Year by the Progreso Independent School
- 3 District and extend to her warmest best wishes for continued
- 4 success and happiness; and, be it further
- 5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 6 prepared for Mrs. Cantu as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 7 House of Representatives.

Wise

H.R. No. 1693

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1693 was adopted by the House on May 31, 2003, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House