RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Throughout her life, Tammie Lang Campbell of
Missouri City has distinguished herself as an influential civil
rights advocate and as a greatly admired author, playwright,
educator, and public speaker; and
WHEREAS, A graduate of Alcorn State University in Lorman,
Mississippi, where she received her bachelor's degree in business

MHEREAS, A graduate of Alcorn State University in Lorman, Mississippi, where she received her bachelor's degree in business administration, Ms. Campbell has long been a prominent leader in the Lone Star State's efforts to promote fair and equitable treatment of African American citizens; in 1998 she became the first female president of the NAACP-Missouri City & Vicinity Branch, and during her tenure she has worked closely with public officials at all levels of government, as well as with members of the media and the local arts community, to encourage, educate, and inspire her fellow Texans; and

WHEREAS, Ms. Campbell founded the Stafford-based Honey Brown Hope Foundation in 1985, and today she serves as the organization's executive director, publications director, spokesperson, and educational coordinator; an accomplished author of such books as The Spirit Within and the Honey Brown children's series, she has developed several acclaimed works that include "Reaching and Teaching Young Minds--By Example," "Operation History: Connecting Ancient Egyptians with their descendants, African Americans," a black history program held in collaboration with the Museum of Fine Arts in Houston, and When Dreamers--Become Doers, a celebration of

- 1 the legacy of the Reverend Martin Luther King, Jr., through dance,
- 2 music, and drama; and
- 3 WHEREAS, This dynamic individual, who has garnered the Texas
- 4 State Conference NAACP's Torchbearer Award, is the recipient of the
- 5 prestigious Kraft Foods/NAACP Community Service Award, an honor
- 6 presented in conjunction with the NAACP's Image Awards ceremony;
- 7 over the course of her career, she has never wavered in her
- 8 commitment to make the dream of diversity a tangible reality for all
- 9 Americans, and it is a privilege to recognize her accomplishments
- 10 at this time; now, therefore, be it
- RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas
- 12 Legislature hereby commend Tammie Lang Campbell for her outstanding
- 13 contributions to her community, state, and nation and extend to her
- 14 best wishes for continued success and happiness in her future
- 15 endeavors; and, be it further
- 16 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 17 prepared for Ms. Campbell as an expression of high regard by the
- 18 Texas House of Representatives.

Olivo

Craddick Geren Mercer Allen Giddings Merritt Alonzo Goodman Miller Bailey Goolsby Moreno of Harris Griggs Baxter Moreno of El Paso Berman Grusendorf Morrison Guillen Bohac Mowery Naishtat Bonnen Gutierrez Haggerty Branch Nixon Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Hamilton Noriega Hamric Oliveira Hardcastle Olivo Burnam Harper-Brown Callegari Paxton Campbell Hartnett Pena Heflin Canales Phillips Hegar Pickett Capelo Hilderbran Pitts Casteel Castro Hill Puente Quintanilla Hochberg Chavez Chisum Hodge Raymond Christian Homer Reyna Coleman Riddle Норе Cook of Navarro Hopson Ritter Cook of Colorado Howard Rodriguez Corte Hughes Rose Crabb Hunter Seaman Crownover Smith of Tarrant Hupp Davis of Harris Smith of Harris Isett Jones of Lubbock Jones of Bexar Jones of Dallas Davis of Dallas Smithee Dawson Solis Delisi Solomons Keel Stick Denny Deshotel Keffer of Dallas Swinford Driver Keffer of Eastland Talton Dukes King Taylor Kolkhorst Dunnam Telford Dutton Krusee Thompson Edwards Kuempel Truitt Laney Eiland Turner Eissler Laubenberg Uresti Elkins Lewis Van Arsdale Ellis Luna Villarreal West Escobar Mabry Wilson Farabee Madden Farrar Marchant Wise Martinez Fischer Wohlgemuth Flores McCall Wolens Flynn McClendon Gallego Wong Woolley Garza McReynolds Gattis

Zedler

Menendez

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1705 was adopted by the House on May 30, 2003, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House