RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, William Lee "Billy" Atkins has been elected 2004

2 vice president of the North American Gaming Regulators Association

(NAGRA), and it is a pleasure to wish him well as he begins his

4 duties; and

3

6

11

12

13

16

17

20

5 WHEREAS, Mr. Atkins was appointed to NAGRA's Charitable

Gaming Committee in 2001, and he currently serves as director of the

7 Texas Lottery Commission's charitable bingo operations division;

8 at the conclusion of his tenure as vice president of NAGRA he will

9 assume the presidency of the association; and

10 WHEREAS, Established in 1984, NAGRA is composed of federal,

state, local, tribal, and provincial government agencies; the

organization develops standards for legislation and rules

concerning the regulation of legalized gaming activities in North

14 America; and

WHEREAS, Mr. Atkins joined the Texas Lottery Commission in

1993 as a special projects coordinator for the intergovernmental

affairs division and was named assistant director of the charitable

18 bingo operations division the following year; in 1997 he became

19 acting director of the division, and a year later he fully assumed

the responsibilities of director; and

21 WHEREAS, Throughout his career as a public servant, he has

demonstrated steadfast leadership skills and integrity, and he will

23 undoubtedly continue this trend as he takes on the challenges of his

24 new position with the North American Gaming Regulators Association;

- 1 now, therefore, be it
- 2 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas
- 3 Legislature hereby congratulate William Lee "Billy" Atkins on his
- 4 election as vice president of the North American Gaming Regulators
- 5 Association and extend to him best wishes for the future; and, be it
- 6 further
- 7 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 8 prepared for Mr. Atkins as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 9 House of Representatives.

Goolsby

Craddick Geren Mercer Allen Giddings Merritt Alonzo Goodman Miller Bailey Goolsby Moreno of Harris Griggs Baxter Moreno of El Paso Berman Grusendorf Morrison Guillen Bohac Mowery Naishtat Bonnen Gutierrez Haggerty Branch Nixon Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Hamilton Noriega Hamric Oliveira Hardcastle Olivo Burnam Harper-Brown Callegari Paxton Campbell Hartnett Pena Heflin Canales Phillips Hegar Pickett Capelo Hilderbran Pitts Casteel Castro Hill Puente Quintanilla Hochberg Chavez Chisum Hodge Raymond Christian Homer Reyna Coleman Riddle Норе Cook of Navarro Hopson Ritter Cook of Colorado Howard Rodriguez Corte Hughes Rose Crabb Hunter Seaman Crownover Smith of Tarrant Hupp Davis of Harris Smith of Harris Isett Jones of Lubbock Jones of Bexar Jones of Dallas Davis of Dallas Smithee Dawson Solis Delisi Solomons Keel Stick Denny Deshotel Keffer of Dallas Swinford Keffer of Eastland Driver Talton Dukes King Taylor Kolkhorst Dunnam Telford Dutton Krusee Thompson Edwards Kuempel Truitt Laney Eiland Turner Eissler Laubenberg Uresti Elkins Lewis Van Arsdale Ellis Luna Villarreal West Escobar Mabry Wilson Farabee Madden Farrar Marchant Wise Martinez Fischer Wohlgemuth Flores McCall Wolens Flynn McClendon Gallego Wong Woolley Garza McReynolds Gattis

Zedler

Menendez

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1711 was adopted by the House on May 30, 2003, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House