H.R. No. 1712

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Blue Bell Ice Cream is justly renowned as the 2 producer of a line of frozen dairy products so compellingly 3 scrumptious that not even the far-flung borders of the Lone Star 4 State could contain them; and

5 WHEREAS, Founded in August 1907 as the Brenham Creamery 6 Company, the struggling enterprise reached a pivotal moment in its 7 history in 1919 when president H. F. Hohlt brought in E. F. Kruse as 8 manager; although the company has changed its name more than once, 9 and has expanded from a cherished local secret to a household word 10 in several states, it has remained in the Kruse family since that 11 time; and

12 WHEREAS, The current company officers, including chairman of 13 the board Ed Kruse, president and CEO Howard Kruse, vice president 14 Paul Kruse, vice president and general sales manager Melvin 15 Ziegenbein, regional manager Harold Gilson, and Darrell Schulte, 16 reflect that continuing family commitment, and they are working to 17 maintain the exceptional level of quality that has always been 18 synonymous with Blue Bell Ice Cream; and

WHEREAS, Now available in Texas, Oklahoma, Louisiana, Mississippi, Arkansas, New Mexico, Missouri, Kansas, Alabama, Florida, Georgia, South Carolina, Kentucky, and Tennessee, the Blue Bell line boasts more than 250 products, including 45 flavors of Blue Bell Ice Cream as well as Blue Bell Light Ice Cream, Blue Bell Lowfat and Nonfat Yogurts, and a variety of other frozen snacks; and

1

H.R. No. 1712

1 WHEREAS, For decades the name "Blue Bell Ice Cream" has 2 brought broad smiles and contented memories to all those who have 3 had the great pleasure of enjoying the company's truly delicious 4 products; countless Americans have repeatedly raised their spoons 5 as a ringing endorsement of Blue Bell Ice Cream, and the members of 6 this chamber take great pleasure in honoring this truly Texan 7 enterprise; now, therefore, be it

8 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas 9 Legislature hereby congratulate the management and staff of Blue 10 Bell Ice Cream on the company's well-deserved success and extend to 11 them sincere best wishes for continued good fortune; and, be it 12 further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be prepared for Blue Bell Ice Cream as an expression of high regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

> Goolsby Kolkhorst

2

Craddick Allen Alonzo Bailey Baxter Berman Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Callegari Campbell Canales Capelo Casteel Castro Chavez Chisum Christian Coleman Cook of Navarro Cook of Colorado Corte Crabb Crownover Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Dawson Delisi Denny Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Edwards Eiland Eissler Elkins Ellis Escobar Farabee Farrar Flores Flynn Gallego Garza Gattis

Geren Giddings Goodman Goolsby Griggs Grusendorf Guillen Gutierrez Haggerty Hamilton Hamric Hardcastle Harper-Brown Hartnett Heflin Hegar Hilderbran Hill Hochberg Hodge Homer Норе Hopson Howard Hughes Hunter Hupp Isett Jones of Lubbock Jones of Bexar Jones of Dallas Keel Keffer of Dallas Keffer of Eastland King Kolkhorst Krusee Kuempel Laney Laubenberg Lewis Luna Mabry Madden Marchant Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds Menendez

Mercer Merritt Miller Moreno of Harris Moreno of El Paso Morrison Mowery Naishtat Nixon Noriega Oliveira Olivo Paxton Pena Phillips Pickett Pitts Puente Quintanilla Raymond Reyna Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Rose Seaman Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solis Solomons Stick Swinford Talton Taylor Telford Thompson Truitt Turner Uresti Van Arsdale Villarreal West Wilson Wise Wohlgemuth Wolens Wong Woolley Zedler

H.R. No. 1712

H.R. No. 1712

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1712 was adopted by the House on May 30, 2003, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House