By: Chisum H.R. No. 1720

RESOLUTION

- BE IT RESOLVED by the House of Representatives of the 78th
- 2 Legislature, That Rule 3, Sections 1 and 21, of the permanent rules
- 3 of the House of Representatives of the 78th Legislature are amended
- 4 to read as follows:
- 5 Sec. 1. AGRICULTURE AND LIVESTOCK. The committee shall have
- 6 seven members, with jurisdiction over all matters pertaining to:
- 7 (1) agriculture, horticulture, and farm husbandry;
- 8 (2) livestock and stock raising, and the livestock
- 9 industry;
- 10 (3) the development and preservation of forests, and
- 11 the regulation, control, and promotion of the lumber industry;
- 12 [and]
- 13 (4) problems and issues particularly affecting rural
- 14 areas of the state; and
- 15 (5) the following state agencies: the Department of
- 16 Agriculture, the Texas Animal Health Commission, the State Soil and
- 17 Water Conservation Board, the Texas Forest Service, the Office of
- 18 South Central Interstate Forest Fire Protection Compact, the Office
- 19 of Chief Apiary Inspector, the Texas Agricultural Experiment
- 20 Station, the Texas Agricultural Extension Service, the Texas Food
- 21 and Fibers Commission, the State Seed and Plant Board, the State
- 22 Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners, the Texas Veterinary Medical
- 23 Diagnostic Laboratory, the Produce Recovery Fund Board, the Texas
- 24 Structural Pest Control Board, the board of directors of the Texas

H.R. No. 1720

- 1 Boll Weevil Eradication Foundation, Inc., the Office of Rural
- 2 <u>Community Affairs</u>, and the Texas Animal Damage Control Service.
- 3 Sec. 21. LAND AND RESOURCE MANAGEMENT. The committee shall
- 4 have nine members, with jurisdiction over all matters pertaining
- 5 to:
- 6 (1) the management of public lands;
- 7 (2) the power of eminent domain;
- 8 (3) annexation, zoning, and other governmental
- 9 regulation of land use; and
- 10 (4) [problems and issues particularly affecting rural
- 11 areas of the state; and
- 12 [(5)] the following state agencies: the School Land
- 13 Board, the Board for Lease of University Lands, the Coastal
- 14 Coordination Council, [the Office of Rural Community Affairs,] and
- 15 the General Land Office.