H.R. No. 1734

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, David Shelton, a senior at Pittsburg High School, 2 has been chosen to serve as president of DECA, Inc., and this 3 impressive accomplishment truly merits special legislative recognition; and 4 WHEREAS, An international association for students and 5 6

teachers of marketing, management, and entrepreneurship, DECA is composed of some 170,000 students, 4,500 teachers, and 14,000 Delta Epsilon Chi members from throughout the United States and Germany; the organization provides its members with a host of valuable services, including leadership training, conferences, classroom support materials, and job placements; and

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

WHEREAS, Mr. Shelton traveled to Orlando, Florida, to compete for the organization's presidency, where he presented a speech, attended a question and answer session, and endured two rounds of voting; before his selection, Mr. Shelton had been elected to serve as president of DECA at the local, district, and state levels; and

WHEREAS, When he completes his presidency, this outstanding young Texan plans to attend Johnson and Wells College in Miami, Florida, on a full scholarship, where he will study general business management; and

WHEREAS, David Shelton's exceptional achievement is tremendous source of pride for his parents, fellow students, and 23 close-knit community, and it is a pleasure to join them in honoring 24 him at this time; now, therefore, be it

H.R. No. 1734

- 1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas
- 2 Legislature hereby congratulate David Shelton on his selection as
- 3 president of DECA, Inc., and extend to him sincere best wishes for
- 4 continued success and happiness; and, be it further
- 5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 6 prepared for Mr. Shelton as an expression of high regard by the
- 7 Texas House of Representatives.

Hughes

H.R. No. 1734

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1734 was adopted by the House on May 31, 2003, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House