H.R. No. 1735

## RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The San Antonio Spurs have sent their intrastate NBA
rival, the Dallas Mavericks, packing by winning the 2003 Western
Conference Finals; and

WHEREAS, NBA Most Valuable Player Tim Duncan and his talented Spurs teammates clipped the wings of the high-flying Mavericks by claiming the I-35 series in convincing fashion and establishing themselves hands down as the best basketball team in the Lone Star State; and

9 WHEREAS, Although the admittedly talented Dallas team might 10 rise phoenix-like from the ashes of defeat next season, it is 11 certain that for the remainder of this year's NBA playoffs the 12 Mavericks are relegated to merely horsing around; now, therefore, 13 be it

14 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas 15 Legislature hereby offer sincere condolences to the Dallas 16 Mavericks, their fans, and especially the Dallas County Delegation 17 on losing to the San Antonio Spurs in the Western Conference Finals. 18 Martinez Fischer

1

Craddick Allen Alonzo Bailey Baxter Berman Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Callegari Campbell Canales Capelo Casteel Castro Chavez Chisum Christian Coleman Cook of Navarro Cook of Colorado Corte Crabb Crownover Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Dawson Delisi Denny Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Edwards Eiland Eissler Elkins Ellis Escobar Farabee Farrar Flores Flynn Gallego Garza Gattis

Geren Giddings Goodman Goolsby Griggs Grusendorf Guillen Gutierrez Haggerty Hamilton Hamric Hardcastle Harper-Brown Hartnett Heflin Hegar Hilderbran Hill Hochberg Hodge Homer Норе Hopson Howard Hughes Hunter Hupp Isett Jones of Lubbock Jones of Bexar Jones of Dallas Keel Keffer of Dallas Keffer of Eastland King Kolkhorst Krusee Kuempel Laney Laubenberg Lewis Luna Mabry Madden Marchant Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds Menendez

Mercer Merritt Miller Moreno of Harris Moreno of El Paso Morrison Mowery Naishtat Nixon Noriega Oliveira Olivo Paxton Pena Phillips Pickett Pitts Puente Quintanilla Raymond Reyna Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Rose Seaman Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solis Solomons Stick Swinford Talton Taylor Telford Thompson Truitt Turner Uresti Van Arsdale Villarreal West Wilson Wise Wohlgemuth Wolens Wong Woolley Zedler

H.R. No. 1735

H.R. No. 1735

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1735 was adopted by the House on May 30, 2003, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House