RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, State Representatives Carter Casteel and John Mabry
have been selected by their peers as Republican and Democratic
Freshman Members of the Year; and

WHEREAS, Representative Casteel of New Braunfels has capably and faithfully represented the constituents of District 73, demonstrating unwavering commitment and integrity; this former public school teacher has a long history of civic leadership and has already proven to be an effective and dedicated legislator; and

WHEREAS, Representative Mabry of Waco has also established an impressive record of public service as one of this chamber's up-and-coming young legislators, proving himself well prepared to meet the challenges of the legislative session; the citizens of District 56 can be justifiably proud of his many accomplishments in his first session; and

WHEREAS, Chosen from among the 37-member freshman class, these two state leaders have earned the respect and admiration of their fellow freshmen as well as that of veteran house members, and they are to be honored for their superlative performance; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas Legislature hereby congratulate the Honorable Carter Casteel and the Honorable John Mabry on their selection as Freshman Members of the Year and commend them for their outstanding efforts during the 78th Legislative Session; and, be it further

- 1 RESOLVED, That official copies of this resolution be prepared
- 2 for these esteemed individuals as an expression of high regard from
- 3 their colleagues in the Texas House of Representatives.

Harper-Brown

Craddick Giddings Merritt Allen Miller Goodman Moreno of Harris Alonzo Goolsby Bailey Moreno of El Paso Griggs Baxter Grusendorf Morrison Berman Guillen Mowery Gutierrez Naishtat Bohac Bonnen Haggerty Nixon Noriega Hamilton Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Hamric Oliveira Hardcastle Olivo Harper-Brown Burnam Paxton Callegari Hartnett Pena Campbell Heflin Phillips Canales Hegar Pickett Hilderbran Pitts Capelo Hill Puente Castro Chavez Hochberg Quintanilla Chisum Hodge Raymond Christian Homer Reyna Coleman Riddle Норе Cook of Navarro Hopson Ritter Cook of Colorado Howard Rodriguez Corte Hughes Rose Crabb Hunter Seaman Smith of Tarrant Crownover Hupp Davis of Harris Isett Smith of Harris Jones of Lubbock Davis of Dallas Smithee Jones of Bexar Jones of Dallas Dawson Solis Delisi Solomons Keel Stick Denny Deshotel Keffer of Dallas Swinford Driver Keffer of Eastland Talton King Dukes Taylor Dunnam Kolkhorst Telford Dutton Thompson Krusee Edwards Kuempel Truitt Eiland Turner Laney Eissler Laubenberg Uresti Elkins Lewis Van Arsdale Ellis Luna Villarreal Escobar Madden West Farabee Marchant Wilson Martinez Fischer Farrar Wise Wohlgemuth McCall Flores Flynn McClendon Wolens Gallego McReynolds Wong Menendez Woolley Garza Gattis Zedler Mercer

Geren

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1767 was adopted by the House on May 31, 2003, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House