H.R. No. 1799

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The House of Representatives of the State of Texas 2

is pleased to pay tribute to United States Army Private First Class

Jessica Lynch for the courage she displayed during Operation Iraqi

Freedom in March of 2003; and 4

3

7

11

12

14

16

18

19

5 WHEREAS, The former prisoner of war has become the human face

6 of both the heroism and horror of the war with Iraq; Private Lynch

was taken captive after a fierce battle with Iraqi forces on March

23, 2003; she was rescued in a daring raid by American special 8

9 operations forces nine days later; and

WHEREAS, The 19-year-old supply clerk from Palestine, West 10

Virginia, was traveling with her 507th Maintenance Company from

Fort Bliss when the convoy was ambushed by Iraqi militia fighters;

13 Private Lynch fought intensely and bravely before being captured as

a prisoner of war; she sustained injuries in her lower back vertebra

15 and multiple fractures in her right arm, left leg, and right ankle

and foot, and she now faces months of rehabilitation; and

WHEREAS, Heroes are those people who inspire us by their 17

courage and perseverance when faced with danger; they possess

qualities that include strength, bravery, and resourcefulness, and

20 Private Lynch is such a person; and

WHEREAS, Now known to the world as a true American hero, 21

22 Private Lynch is an inspiration to others and a source of great

23 pride to her family, her community, and her country; now,

therefore, be it 24

H.R. No. 1799

- 1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas
- 2 Legislature hereby commend Jessica Lynch for her superior courage
- 3 and tenacity and extend to her best wishes for a swift recovery and
- 4 much success in the future; and, be it further
- 5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 6 prepared for Private Lynch as an expression of esteem from the Texas
- 7 House of Representatives.

Chavez

H.R. No. 1799

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1799 was adopted by the House on June 1, 2003, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House