RESOLUTION

- BE IT RESOLVED by the House of Representatives of the State of
 Texas, 78th Legislature, Regular Session, 2003, That House Rule 13,
 Section 9(a), be suspended in part as provided by House Rule 13,
 Section 9(f), to enable the conference committee appointed to
 resolve the differences on Senate Bill No. 1936, relating to the
 creation of the Buffalo Bayou Management District; providing the
 authority to impose taxes and issue bonds, to consider and take
- 9 (1) House Rule 13, Section 9(a)(1), is suspended to permit 10 the committee to change text in SECTION 4 of the bill so that 11 SECTION 4 reads as follows:

action on the following matters:

8

- 12 SECTION 4. BOUNDARIES. The district includes all the territory contained in the following described area:
- territory contained in the following described area: POINT OF BEGINNING at the intersection of the west boundary line of 14 15 the Houston Downtown Management District and the north boundary of Memorial Drive right-of-way, then west along the north boundary of 16 Memorial Drive right-of-way to the north boundary of Memorial 17 Drive's Heights North exit ramp, then northwest along the north 18 boundary of Memorial Drive's Heights North exit ramp to the east 19 boundary of Heights boulevard right-of-way, then west across 20 21 Heights Boulevard from the east boundary of Heights Boulevard right-of-way to the west boundary of the Heights Boulevard 22 right-of-way, then south along the west boundary of Heights 23 boulevard right-of-way to the north boundary of Memorial Drive's 24

Memorial West entrance ramp, then southwest along the north 1 boundary of Memorial Drive's Memorial West entrance ramp to the 2 northern boundary line of Memorial Drive right-of-way, then west 3 4 along the northern boundary line of Memorial Drive right-of-way to 5 the west boundary line of Shepherd Drive right-of-way, then south 6 along the west boundary line of Shepherd Drive right-of-way to the 7 centerline of West Dallas, then east along the centerline of West Dallas to the intersection of the west boundary of Montrose 8 Boulevard right-of-way and the centerline of West Dallas, then 9 south along the west boundary line of Montrose Boulevard 10 right-of-way to the south boundary line of U.S. Highway 59 and the 11 west boundary line of Montrose Boulevard right-of-way, then in an 12 easterly direction from said intersection along the south boundary 13 14 line of U.S. Highway 59 to the intersection of the west boundary 15 line of the Main Street right-of-way and then proceeding from said intersection in a northwesterly direction along the boundary line 16 17 of the west Main Street right-of-way paralleling the boundary line of the Greater Southeast Management District to the intersection of 18 the boundary line of the south Portland Street right-of-way and the 19 boundary line of the west Main Street right-of-way, being the 20 southern boundary line of the Midtown Management District, then 21 proceeding from said intersection in generally a northeasterly 22 direction the boundary line parallels the Midtown Management 23 24 District boundary line to the intersection of the west boundary 25 line of the US Hwy 45 right-of-way and the north boundary line of 26 the Cleveland Street right-of-way, being the western boundary line 27 of the Houston Downtown Management District, then north from said

- 1 intersection along the western boundary line of the Houston
- 2 Downtown Management District to the POINT OF BEGINNING.
- 3 Explanation: The new description of the area of the district
- 4 is necessary to reflect a change in the area to be included in the
- 5 district.
- 6 (2) House Rule 13, Section 9(a)(1), is suspended to permit
- 7 the committee to change text in SECTION 9 of the bill so that
- 8 SECTION 9 reads as follows:
- 9 SECTION 9. BOARD OF DIRECTORS IN GENERAL. (a) The district
- 10 is governed by a board of 31 voting directors appointed under
- 11 Section 10 of this Act and nonvoting directors as provided by
- 12 Section 11 of this Act.
- 13 (b) Voting directors serve staggered terms of four years,
- 14 with 15 directors' terms expiring June 1 of an odd-numbered year and
- 15 16 directors' terms expiring June 1 of the following odd-numbered
- 16 year.
- 17 (c) The board may decrease the number of directors on the
- 18 board by resolution if the board finds that it is in the best
- 19 interest of the district. The board may not consist of fewer than
- 20 five directors.
- 21 Explanation: The changed text is necessary to accommodate a
- 22 larger board of directors for the district and to stagger terms
- 23 accordingly.
- 24 (3) House Rule 13, Section 9(a)(1), is suspended to permit
- 25 the committee to change text in SECTION 11(b) of the bill so that
- 26 Subsection (b) reads as follows:
- 27 (b) If a department described by Subsection (a) of this

- 1 section is consolidated, renamed, or changed, the board may appoint
- 2 a director of the consolidated, renamed, or changed department as a
- 3 nonvoting director. If a department described by Subsection (a) of
- 4 this section is abolished, the board may appoint a representative
- 5 of another department that performs duties comparable to those
- 6 performed by the abolished department.
- 7 Explanation: The change is necessary to clarify to which
- 8 section the reference to "Subsection (a)" applies.
- 9 (4) House Rule 13, Section 9(a)(1), is suspended to permit
- 10 the committee to change text in SECTION 19(a) of the bill so that
- 11 Subsection (a) reads as follows:
- 12 (a) If authorized at an election held in accordance with
- 13 Section 18 of this Act, the district may impose an annual ad valorem
- 14 tax on taxable property in the district for the:
- 15 (1) maintenance and operation of the district and the
- improvements constructed or acquired by the district; or
- 17 (2) provision of a service.
- 18 Explanation: The change is necessary to clarify that the
- 19 Section 18 referred to is from this Act.
- 20 (5) House Rule 13, Section 9(a)(1), is suspended to permit
- 21 the committee to change text in SECTIONS 31(a), (b), and (c) of the
- 22 bill so that Subsections (a), (b), and (c) read as follows:
- 23 (a) The initial board consists of the following persons:
- 24 Pos. No. Name of Director
- 25 1 Kay Crooker
- 26 2 Mike Garver
- 27 3 Jackie Martin

1	4	Mark Lee
2	5	John Chase, Jr.
3	6	Adrian Collins
4	7	Max Schuette
5	8	June Deadrick
6	9	Don Cutrer
7	10	Raju Adwaney
8	11	Mike Mark
9	12	Sia Ravari
10	13	Cherry Walker
11	14	John Hansen
12	15	John Dao
13	16	William Taylor
14	17	Karen Domino
15	18	Kevin Hoffman
16	19	Jeff Andrews
17	20	William Paul Thomas
18	21	Theola Petteway
19	22	Keith Wade
20	23	Chryisse Wilson
21	24	Sadie Rucker
22	25	Julie McClure
23	26	Angie Gomez
24	27	Tom Fricke
25	28	James Robert McDermaid
26	29	Kathy Hubbard
27	30	Marsha Johnson

- 1 31 Craig Jackson
- 2 (b) Of the initial directors, the terms of directors
- 3 appointed for positions 1 through 15 expire June 1, 2005, and the
- 4 terms of directors appointed for positions 16 through 31 expire
- 5 June 1, 2007.
- 6 (c) Section 10 of this Act does not apply to this section.
- 7 Explanation: The changed text is necessary to add the
- 8 complete number of initial directors authorized to serve on the
- 9 board and to adjust their terms accordingly.
- 10 Suspending limitations on conference committee jurisdiction, S.B.
- 11 No. 1936.

Coleman

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1804 was adopted by the House on June 1, 2003, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House