RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, During the 78th Texas Legislative Session, Jamaal Rashad Smith has served with distinction as a staff member in State Representative Joe Moreno's district office in Houston; and WHEREAS, Mr. Smith is a participant in the University of Houston (UH) public policy department's Local Intern Program, the second time he has been involved in this worthy endeavor; as an intern, he has enhanced his knowledge of the legislative process and the issues facing citizens of the Lone Star State, while also gaining valuable work experience in a political environment; and

WHEREAS, An alumnus of Clay High School in Gainesville, Florida, Mr. Smith will graduate this summer from the University of Houston with a bachelor's degree in political science; he plans to attend the South Texas College of Law and ultimately establish a career in public service; and

WHEREAS, An avid amateur boxer and frequent contributor to the UH campus newspaper, the *Daily Cougar*, he serves his fellow students as vice president of the Hatchett Pre-Law Society and as president of the campus organization, H.E.L.P., (Humans Engaged in Loving People); and

WHEREAS, Jamaal Smith has demonstrated exceptional commitment and purposefulness during his tenure in the program, and he is indeed deserving of special legislative recognition for his contributions to the state; now, therefore, be it

24 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas

- 1 Legislature hereby commend Jamaal Rashad Smith for his legislative
- 2 service in the district office of Representative Joe Moreno and
- 3 extend to him warmest best wishes for success and happiness in the
- 4 coming years; and, be it further
- 5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 6 prepared for Mr. Smith as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 7 House of Representatives.

Moreno of Harris

Craddick Geren Mercer Allen Giddings Merritt Alonzo Goodman Miller Bailey Goolsby Moreno of Harris Griggs Baxter Moreno of El Paso Berman Grusendorf Morrison Guillen Bohac Mowery Naishtat Bonnen Gutierrez Haggerty Branch Nixon Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Hamilton Noriega Hamric Oliveira Hardcastle Olivo Burnam Harper-Brown Callegari Paxton Campbell Hartnett Pena Heflin Canales Phillips Hegar Pickett Capelo Hilderbran Pitts Casteel Castro Hill Puente Quintanilla Hochberg Chavez Chisum Hodge Raymond Christian Homer Reyna Coleman Riddle Норе Cook of Navarro Hopson Ritter Cook of Colorado Howard Rodriguez Corte Hughes Rose Crabb Hunter Seaman Crownover Smith of Tarrant Hupp Davis of Harris Smith of Harris Isett Jones of Lubbock Jones of Bexar Jones of Dallas Davis of Dallas Smithee Dawson Solis Delisi Solomons Keel Stick Denny Deshotel Keffer of Dallas Swinford Keffer of Eastland Driver Talton Dukes King Taylor Kolkhorst Dunnam Telford Dutton Krusee Thompson Edwards Kuempel Truitt Laney Eiland Turner Eissler Laubenberg Uresti Elkins Lewis Van Arsdale Ellis Luna Villarreal West Escobar Mabry Wilson Farabee Madden Farrar Marchant Wise Martinez Fischer Wohlgemuth Flores McCall Wolens Flynn McClendon Gallego Wong Woolley Garza McReynolds Gattis

Zedler

Menendez

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1839 was adopted by the House on June 1, 2003, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House