RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The Texas House of Representatives takes great
- 2 pleasure in honoring Daisy May O'Donnell of Pasadena High School on
- 3 her receipt of a 2003 Houston Livestock Show and Rodeo Scholarship;
- 4 and
- 5 WHEREAS, Since awarding its first educational scholarship in
- 6 1957, the Houston Livestock Show and Rodeo has provided more than
- 7 \$90 million to Texas students who wish to pursue higher education;
- 8 and
- 9 WHEREAS, This year, 305 high school seniors from across the
- 10 Houston area received scholarships, totaling more than \$3 million,
- 11 with each student receiving a four-year, \$10,000 award from one of
- 12 three scholarship programs: metropolitan, opportunity, and school
- 13 art; and
- WHEREAS, Exemplifying the high standards and ideals of this
- 15 fine program, and demonstrating significant academic potential and
- 16 leadership, Daisy May O'Donnell is a truly deserving recipient of
- 17 this scholarship, and it is a privilege to honor her at this time;
- 18 now, therefore, be it
- 19 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas
- 20 Legislature hereby congratulate Daisy May O'Donnell on receiving a
- 21 scholarship from the Houston Livestock Show and Rodeo and extend to
- 22 her sincere best wishes for continued success and happiness; and,
- 23 be it further
- 24 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be

- 1 prepared for this outstanding young Texan as an expression of high
- 2 regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

Moreno of Harris

Craddick Geren Mercer Allen Giddings Merritt Alonzo Goodman Miller Bailey Goolsby Moreno of Harris Griggs Baxter Moreno of El Paso Berman Grusendorf Morrison Guillen Bohac Mowery Naishtat Bonnen Gutierrez Haggerty Branch Nixon Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Hamilton Noriega Hamric Oliveira Hardcastle Olivo Burnam Harper-Brown Callegari Paxton Campbell Hartnett Pena Heflin Canales Phillips Hegar Pickett Capelo Hilderbran Pitts Casteel Castro Hill Puente Quintanilla Hochberg Chavez Chisum Hodge Raymond Christian Homer Reyna Riddle Coleman Норе Cook of Navarro Hopson Ritter Cook of Colorado Howard Rodriguez Corte Hughes Rose Crabb Hunter Seaman Crownover Smith of Tarrant Hupp Davis of Harris Smith of Harris Isett Jones of Lubbock Jones of Bexar Jones of Dallas Davis of Dallas Smithee Dawson Solis Delisi Solomons Keel Stick Denny Deshotel Keffer of Dallas Swinford Keffer of Eastland Driver Talton Dukes King Taylor Kolkhorst Dunnam Telford Dutton Krusee Thompson Edwards Kuempel Truitt Laney Eiland Turner Eissler Laubenberg Uresti Elkins Lewis Van Arsdale Ellis Luna Villarreal Escobar Mabry West Wilson Farabee Madden Farrar Marchant Wise Martinez Fischer Wohlgemuth Flores McCall Wolens Flynn McClendon Gallego Wong Woolley Garza McReynolds

Zedler

Menendez

Gattis

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1846 was adopted by the House on June 1, 2003, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House