H.R. No. 1865

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, For more than 100 years, Texans have celebrated June 2 19 as Emancipation Day, or "Juneteenth," for it was on that date in 3 1865 that African American slaves in this state finally gained the 4 freedom nominally conferred on them by the Emancipation 5 Proclamation; and

6 WHEREAS, Recognizing the significance this date holds for all 7 Texans, the 66th Texas Legislature approved a bill, authored by 8 Representative Al Edwards, designating June 19 as an official state 9 holiday; and

WHEREAS, In 1997, at the instigation of Representative 10 11 Edwards, the 75th Texas Legislature created the Texas Emancipation 12 Juneteenth Cultural and Historical Commission, whose objectives 13 were to coordinate state and local activities relating to 14 Juneteenth and to arrange for the erection of a memorial monument; when completed, this monument will be installed on the southwest 15 grounds of the State Capitol; Representative Edwards has also 16 worked to ensure that emancipation and Juneteenth are appropriately 17 handled in school textbooks; and 18

WHEREAS, In coming together to celebrate the end of slavery in the Lone Star State, we honor the countless individuals who endured the rigors of that terrible system and pay tribute to their perseverance and achievements; their labor, as agricultural workers, mechanics, and artisans, played an immeasurable role in the development of this state, and we are all the beneficiaries of

1

H.R. No. 1865

their toil; on Juneteenth we honor, moreover, the myriad accomplishments of African Americans since freedom came, and we acknowledge the continuing struggle for social justice, a mighty work deserving the efforts of all Texans of goodwill; now, therefore, be it

6 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas 7 Legislature hereby recognize the June 1, 2003, opening ceremony of 8 Juneteenth 2003 and encourage all Texans to join in Juneteenth 9 celebrations.

Edwards

Craddick Allen Alonzo Bailey Baxter Berman Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Callegari Campbell Canales Capelo Casteel Castro Chavez Chisum Christian Coleman Cook of Navarro Cook of Colorado Corte Crabb Crownover Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Dawson Delisi Denny Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Edwards Eiland Eissler Elkins Ellis Escobar Farabee Farrar Flores Flynn Gallego Garza Gattis

Geren Giddings Goodman Goolsby Griggs Grusendorf Guillen Gutierrez Haggerty Hamilton Hamric Hardcastle Harper-Brown Hartnett Heflin Hegar Hilderbran Hill Hochberg Hodge Homer Норе Hopson Howard Hughes Hunter Hupp Isett Jones of Lubbock Jones of Bexar Jones of Dallas Keel Keffer of Dallas Keffer of Eastland King Kolkhorst Krusee Kuempel Laney Laubenberg Lewis Luna Mabry Madden Marchant Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds Menendez

Mercer Merritt Miller Moreno of Harris Moreno of El Paso Morrison Mowery Naishtat Nixon Noriega Oliveira Olivo Paxton Pena Phillips Pickett Pitts Puente Quintanilla Raymond Reyna Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Rose Seaman Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solis Solomons Stick Swinford Talton Taylor Telford Thompson Truitt Turner Uresti Van Arsdale Villarreal West Wilson Wise Wohlgemuth Wolens Wong Woolley Zedler

H.R. No. 1865

H.R. No. 1865

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1865 was adopted by the House on June 1, 2003, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House