## RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, A free and informed press is one of the cornerstones of our democracy, and members of the Capitol Press Corps have an important responsibility to report the news and provide analysis of events of importance to the people of this state; and

WHEREAS, Connie Mabin, an Associated Press (AP) newswoman, has been the house beat reporter at the Texas State Capitol since 1999, covering education, health and human services, and business news; and

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

WHEREAS, Joining the Associated Press in 1996, Ms. Mabin worked in Colorado and West Virginia before moving to Texas, garnering awards for both her writing and reporting, and she will undoubtedly continue to earn acclaim in her new post as a correspondent in charge of the AP's Cleveland Bureau; and

WHEREAS, This highly respected journalist leaves behind a host of friends and admirers in Texas, and she will be missed as she embarks on this exciting new chapter in her life; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas Legislature hereby honor Connie Mabin for her outstanding work as a member of the Capitol Press Corps in Austin and extend to her best wishes for continued success and happiness.

Eiland Laney

H.R. No. 1878

Craddick Geren Allen Giddings Goodman Alonzo Bailey Goolsby Baxter Griggs Berman Guillen Bohac Bonnen Branch Haggerty Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Hamilton Hamric

Burnam Callegari Campbell Canales Capelo Casteel Castro Chavez Chisum Christian Coleman

Cook of Navarro Cook of Colorado Corte Crabb

Crownover Davis of Harris

Davis of Dallas

Dawson Delisi Denny Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Edwards Eiland Eissler Elkins Ellis Escobar Farabee

Farrar Flores Flynn Gallego Garza Gattis

Grusendorf

Gutierrez Hardcastle Harper-Brown Hartnett Heflin Hegar Hiĺderbran Hill Hochberg Hodge Homer

Норе Hopson Howard Hughes Hunter Hupp Isett Jones of Lubbock Jones of Bexar Jones of Dallas

Keel Keffer of Dallas Keffer of Eastland King Kolkhorst Krusee Kuempel Laney

Laubenberg Lewis Luna Mabry Madden Marchant Martinez Fischer

McCall McClendon McReynolds Menendez

Mercer Merritt Miller

Moreno of Harris Moreno of El Paso Morrison

Mowery Naishtat Nixon Noriega Oliveira Olivo Paxton Pena Phillips Pickett Pitts Puente Quintanilla Raymond Reyna Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Rose Seaman

Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee

Solis Solomons Stick Swinford Talton Taylor Telford Thompson Truitt Turner Uresti Van Arsdale Villarreal West

Wise Wohlgemuth Wolens Wong Woolley Zedler

Wilson

H.R. No. 1878

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1878 was adopted by the House on June 1, 2003, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House