## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Dallas Mavericks recently completed their 2 highly successful 2002-2003 National Basketball Association season 3 by winning their way to the Western Conference Finals, and the team's achievements signal a bright future for the franchise; and 4 5 WHEREAS, After completing the grueling regular season 6 schedule, the Mavericks began their playoff run with a thrilling four games to three triumph over the Portland Trailblazers; Dallas 7 was again pushed to a deciding game seven in the second round by the 8 Sacramento Kings, but the team demonstrated true championship heart 9 and earned a place in the Western Conference Finals; and 10 11 WHEREAS, The Mavericks faced an uphill battle in their final 12 series of the season against the San Antonio Spurs after Dirk 13 Nowitzki went down with an injury, but Dallas refused to go quietly 14 and extended the Spurs to six games before finally falling to their intrastate rival; and 15 WHEREAS, This memorable season was a result of total 16 dedication to team goals by players Tariq Abdul-Wahad, Raja Bell, 17 18 Shawn Bradley, Evan Eschmeyer, Michael Finley, Adrian Griffin, Avery Johnson, Popeye Jones, Raef LaFrentz, Eduardo Najera, Steve 19 Nash, Dirk Nowitzki, Antoine Rigaudeau, Nick Van Exel, and Walt 20 21 Williams; and 22 WHEREAS, Legendary head coach Don Nelson has worked 23 relentlessly to mold this group of talented players into a

championship-caliber team, and he has been ably supported in his

24

- 1 efforts by assistant coaches Donn Nelson, Del Harris, Sidney
- 2 Moncrief, Charlie Parker, and Rolando Blackman, trainer Roger
- 3 Hinds, and assistant trainer Steve Smith; and
- WHEREAS, The Dallas Mavericks' thrilling exploits during the
- 5 2002-2003 campaign are a source of tremendous pride to Mavericks
- 6 fans, the city of Dallas, and the State of Texas, and it is most
- 7 appropriate that the team receive special legislative recognition
- 8 at this time; now, therefore, be it
- 9 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas
- 10 Legislature hereby congratulate the team members and coaching staff
- of the Dallas Mavericks on the team's truly exceptional season and
- 12 extend to them sincere best wishes for future success; and, be it
- 13 further
- 14 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 15 prepared for the Dallas Mavericks as an expression of high regard by
- 16 the Texas House of Representatives.

Hodge Driver Giddings Jones of Dallas Davis of Dallas

Craddick Geren Mercer Allen Giddings Merritt Alonzo Goodman Miller Bailey Goolsby Moreno of Harris Griggs Baxter Moreno of El Paso Berman Grusendorf Morrison Guillen Bohac Mowery Naishtat Bonnen Gutierrez Haggerty Branch Nixon Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Hamilton Noriega Hamric Oliveira Hardcastle Olivo Burnam Harper-Brown Callegari Paxton Campbell Hartnett Pena Heflin Canales Phillips Hegar Pickett Capelo Hilderbran Pitts Casteel Castro Hill Puente Quintanilla Hochberg Chavez Chisum Hodge Raymond Christian Homer Reyna Coleman Riddle Норе Cook of Navarro Hopson Ritter Cook of Colorado Howard Rodriguez Corte Hughes Rose Crabb Hunter Seaman Crownover Smith of Tarrant Hupp Davis of Harris Smith of Harris Isett Jones of Lubbock Jones of Bexar Jones of Dallas Davis of Dallas Smithee Dawson Solis Delisi Solomons Keel Stick Denny Deshotel Keffer of Dallas Swinford Driver Keffer of Eastland Talton Dukes King Taylor Kolkhorst Dunnam Telford Dutton Krusee Thompson Edwards Kuempel Truitt Laney Eiland Turner Eissler Laubenberg Uresti Elkins Lewis Van Arsdale Ellis Luna Villarreal West Escobar Mabry Wilson Farabee Madden Farrar Marchant Wise Martinez Fischer Wohlgemuth Flores McCall Wolens Flynn McClendon Gallego Wong Woolley Garza McReynolds Gattis Menendez Zedler

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1901 was adopted by the House on June 2, 2003, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House