## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The untimely passing of Jonathan Drew Portinga on
- 2 May 25, 2003, at the age of 18, has deeply saddened the family and
- 3 friends of this beloved young man; and
- WHEREAS, The son of Clint and Cheryl Mead, this adventurous
- 5 and active student was a senior at Community High School, where he
- 6 was a valued member of the basketball team; he was also an avid
- 7 fisherman and a close friend to many; and
- 8 WHEREAS, Jonathan Portinga was a young man of great promise,
- 9 and although his life has been tragically cut short, his spirit
- 10 continues to live on in the hearts and minds of the many people who
- 11 were privileged to know him; now, therefore, be it
- RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas
- 13 Legislature hereby pay tribute to the life of Jonathan Drew
- 14 Portinga and extend sincere sympathy to his family and the
- countless friends who will treasure his memory; and, be it further
- RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 17 prepared for his family and that when the Texas House of
- 18 Representatives adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Jonathan
- 19 Drew Portinga.

Laubenberg

## H.R. No. 1939

Craddick Geren Mercer Allen Giddings Merritt Alonzo Goodman Miller Bailey Goolsby Moreno of Harris Griggs Baxter Moreno of El Paso Berman Grusendorf Morrison Guillen Bohac Mowery Naishtat Bonnen Gutierrez Haggerty Branch Nixon Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Hamilton Noriega Hamric Oliveira Hardcastle Olivo Burnam Harper-Brown Callegari Paxton Campbell Hartnett Pena Heflin Canales Phillips Hegar Pickett Capelo Casteel Hilderbran Pitts Castro Hill Puente Quintanilla Chavez Hochberg Chisum Hodge Raymond Christian Homer Reyna Coleman Riddle Норе Cook of Navarro Hopson Ritter Howard Cook of Colorado Rodriguez Corte Hughes Rose Crabb Hunter Seaman Crownover Smith of Tarrant Hupp Davis of Harris Smith of Harris Isett Jones of Lubbock Jones of Bexar Jones of Dallas Davis of Dallas Smithee Dawson Solis Solomons Delisi Keel Stick Denny Deshotel Keffer of Dallas Swinford Driver Keffer of Eastland Talton Dukes King Taylor Kolkhorst Telford Dunnam Dutton Krusee Thompson Edwards Kuempel Truitt Laney Eiland Turner Eissler Laubenberg Uresti Elkins Van Arsdale Lewis Ellis Luna Villarreal West Escobar Mabry Wilson Farabee Madden Farrar Marchant Wise Martinez Fischer Flores Wohlgemuth McCall Wolens Flynn McClendon Gallego Wong McReynolds Woolley Garza

Zedler

Menendez

Gattis

H.R. No. 1939

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1939 was unanimously adopted by a rising vote of the House on June 2, 2003.

Chief Clerk of the House