H.R. No. 1975

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, On May 24-25, 2003, the Allen Special Olympics

volleyball team represented the Lone Star State in fine fashion in

the Special Olympics Unified division of the USA Volleyball

4 Championships in Minneapolis, Minnesota; and

5 WHEREAS, Throughout its history, the Special Olympics

6 program has made significant contributions to the physical, social,

and psychological development of people with special needs by

providing them with an avenue for success through athletic

9 competition; Special Olympics Unified teams combine the skills of

Special Olympics athletes and "partners," who train and compete

11 together; and

2

3

7

8

10

13

16

20

WHEREAS, One of only 10 Special Olympics Unified teams

nationwide to participate in the volleyball championships, the

14 Allen squad is composed of athletes Michael Jackson, Jakob Hines,

15 Ryan Landry, and Amy Rosilier and partners Gerald Wine, Tom

Jaconette, Paul Landry, and Austin Landry; providing outstanding

17 support and instruction to this winning combination is head coach

18 Lisa Grantham; and

19 WHEREAS, The exceptional character and determination of

these talented athletes are a source of pride to all who know them,

21 and their efforts are indeed worthy of legislative recognition at

22 this time; now, therefore, be it

23 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas

24 Legislature hereby congratulate the Allen Special Olympics

H.R. No. 1975

- 1 volleyball team on its selection to compete in the 2003 USA
- 2 Volleyball Championships and extend to Coach Grantham and all the
- 3 team members sincere best wishes for continued success and
- 4 happiness; and, be it further
- 5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 6 prepared for the Allen Special Olympics volleyball team as an
- 7 expression of high regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

Madden

H.R. No. 1975

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1975 was adopted by the House on June 2, 2003, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House