RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Sai Gunturi of Plano represented his school, his
- 2 city, and his state with great distinction as the winner of the 76th
- 3 Scripps Howard National Spelling Bee in Washington, D.C.; and
- WHEREAS, An eighth-grader at St. Mark's School of Texas in
- 5 Dallas, Mr. Gunturi has made four consecutive appearances in the
- 6 national spelling bee, finishing 32nd in 2000, 16th in 2001, and 7th
- 7 in 2002; and
- 8 WHEREAS, Through 15 rounds of competition, he calmly,
- 9 confidently, and correctly spelled such obscure words as
- 10 "marmoraceous," "halogeton," and "dipnoous"; and
- 11 WHEREAS, Demonstrating poise and focus, he outlasted 250
- 12 participants from all 50 states and seven countries, and ultimately
- 13 sealed the victory by correctly spelling "pococurante," a word
- 14 meaning indifferent or apathetic; and
- WHEREAS, Mr. Gunturi comes from a family of outstanding
- spellers; his sister, Nivedita, tied for eighth place in the 1997
- 17 national competition; and
- 18 WHEREAS, An avid reader and a straight-A student, he placed
- 19 first in the Hellenic history and Greek derivatives categories at
- 20 the National Junior Classical League convention; in addition to
- 21 following a rigorous academic regimen, he plays violin in his
- 22 school's orchestra, studies Indian classical music, and enjoys bike
- 23 riding, tennis, and video games; and
- WHEREAS, Mr. Gunturi holds future aspirations of becoming a

- 1 sculptor or a genetic engineer, and the members of this chamber are
- 2 decidedly NOT pococurante about his most recent achievement; now,
- 3 therefore, be it
- 4 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas
- 5 Legislature hereby congratulate Sai Gunturi on winning the 2003
- 6 Scripps Howard National Spelling Bee and extend to him best wishes
- 7 for continued success; and, be it further
- 8 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 9 prepared for Mr. Gunturi as an expression of high regard by the
- 10 Texas House of Representatives.

Branch

Craddick Geren Mercer Allen Giddings Merritt Alonzo Goodman Miller Bailey Goolsby Moreno of Harris Griggs Baxter Moreno of El Paso Berman Grusendorf Morrison Guillen Bohac Mowery Naishtat Bonnen Gutierrez Haggerty Branch Nixon Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Hamilton Noriega Hamric Oliveira Hardcastle Olivo Burnam Harper-Brown Callegari Paxton Campbell Hartnett Pena Heflin Canales Phillips Hegar Pickett Capelo Hilderbran Pitts Casteel Castro Hill Puente Quintanilla Hochberg Chavez Chisum Hodge Raymond Christian Homer Reyna Coleman Riddle Норе Cook of Navarro Hopson Ritter Cook of Colorado Howard Rodriguez Corte Hughes Rose Crabb Hunter Seaman Crownover Smith of Tarrant Hupp Davis of Harris Smith of Harris Isett Jones of Lubbock Jones of Bexar Jones of Dallas Davis of Dallas Smithee Dawson Solis Delisi Solomons Keel Stick Denny Deshotel Keffer of Dallas Swinford Driver Keffer of Eastland Talton Dukes King Taylor Kolkhorst Dunnam Telford Dutton Krusee Thompson Edwards Kuempel Truitt Laney Eiland Turner Eissler Laubenberg Uresti Elkins Lewis Van Arsdale Ellis Luna Villarreal West Escobar Mabry Wilson Farabee Madden Farrar Marchant Wise Martinez Fischer Wohlgemuth Flores McCall Wolens Flynn McClendon Gallego Wong Woolley Garza McReynolds

Zedler

Menendez

Gattis

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1980 was adopted by the House on June 2, 2003, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House