RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Houston's Klein Forest High School has received a 2 Blue Ribbon School Award for 2001-2002 from the U.S. Department of 3 Education, and the faculty, staff, and students of this outstanding school are most deserving of special praise for this honor; and 4 5 WHEREAS, Based on comprehensive performance in academics, participation in extracurricular activities, and overall staff 6 dedication and commitment, the Blue Ribbon School Award is 7 presented to only a select few schools in the country; and 8 With an exemplary faculty of visionary 9 WHEREAS, enthusiastic teachers, Klein Forest High School has laid a firm 10 foundation for academic achievement; the school's ethnically and 11 12 socioeconomically diverse student body is committed to excellence 13 and the students have truly embraced the school's motto, "Over and 14 Beyond," by striving for success in all their pursuits; and WHEREAS, Young people are indeed our most precious natural 15 resource, and by raising expectations and encouraging success, the 16 faculty and staff at Klein Forest High School are having a positive 17 effect on our next generation of leaders; now, therefore, be it 18 19

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas Legislature hereby commend the faculty, staff, and students of Klein Forest High School on being recognized with the U.S. Department of Education's Blue Ribbon School Award and extend best wishes to the many individuals who contributed to this achievement; and, be it further

20

21

22

23

24

- 1 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 2 prepared for Klein Forest High School as an expression of high
- 3 regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

Riddle

Craddick Geren Mercer Allen Giddings Merritt Alonzo Goodman Miller Bailey Goolsby Moreno of Harris Griggs Baxter Moreno of El Paso Berman Grusendorf Morrison Guillen Bohac Mowery Naishtat Bonnen Gutierrez Haggerty Branch Nixon Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Hamilton Noriega Hamric Oliveira Hardcastle Olivo Burnam Harper-Brown Callegari Paxton Campbell Hartnett Pena Heflin Canales Phillips Hegar Pickett Capelo Casteel Hilderbran Pitts Castro Hill Puente Quintanilla Hochberg Chavez Chisum Hodge Raymond Christian Homer Reyna Coleman Riddle Норе Cook of Navarro Hopson Ritter Cook of Colorado Howard Rodriguez Corte Hughes Rose Crabb Hunter Seaman Crownover Smith of Tarrant Hupp Davis of Harris Smith of Harris Isett Jones of Lubbock Jones of Bexar Jones of Dallas Davis of Dallas Smithee Dawson Solis Delisi Solomons Keel Stick Denny Deshotel Keffer of Dallas Swinford Driver Keffer of Eastland Talton Dukes King Taylor Kolkhorst Dunnam Telford Dutton Krusee Thompson Edwards Kuempel Truitt Laney Eiland Turner Eissler Laubenberg Uresti Elkins Lewis Van Arsdale Ellis Luna Villarreal West Escobar Mabry Wilson Farabee Madden Farrar Marchant Wise Martinez Fischer Wohlgemuth Flores McCall Wolens Flynn McClendon Gallego Wong Woolley Garza McReynolds

Zedler

Menendez

Gattis

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1993 was adopted by the House on June 2, 2003, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House