## RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Texas is home to numerous authors and poets who have earned international acclaim for their work, but one of our state's most unique and prolific authors, Missy Jones Thistlewood, remains unknown to all but a few devotees of her unusual literary milieu; and

WHEREAS, Melissa Elizabeth Jones was born in Lubbock in 1912, and while growing up on her family's cotton farm, she could hardly have guessed the unusual turns her life would take; she began dating Arthur Thistlewood while the two were still in high school, and despite admonitions from friends about the nature of her future name, she married him soon after graduation; and

WHEREAS, Mrs. Melissa Elizabeth Thistlewood then endured much good-natured teasing from family and friends about her difficult name, and this initiated her lifelong fascination with tongue twisters; when the economic pressures of the Great Depression made it difficult for her and Arthur to support their two young children, Mrs. Missy Thistlewood put her hobby to good use, and with money borrowed from her parents, she published her first book of tongue twisters; and

WHEREAS, From such seemingly simple sentences as "Plain bun, plum bun, bun without plum" to the more difficult "There was a little witch which switched from Chichester to Ipswich" to the fiendishly difficult "Miss Smith's fish-sauce shop seldom sells shellfish," Mrs. Thistlewood's book included a vast collection of

- 1 alliterative literary twists and onomatopoeic monstrosities, and
- 2 it quickly became a tremendous success; and
- 3 WHEREAS, To this day, her favorite creation is the one that
- 4 was inspired by a variation of her own name; for the past 60 years,
- 5 generations of American children have struggled to recite:
- 6 "Theophilus Thadeus Thistledown, the successful thistle-sifter,
- 7 while sifting a sieve-full of unsifted thistles, thrust three
- 8 thousand thistles through the thick of his thumb; Now, if
- 9 Theophilus Thadeus Thistledown, the successful thistle-sifter,
- 10 thrust three thousand thistles through the thick of his thumb, See
- 11 that thou, while sifting a sieve-full of unsifted thistles, thrust
- 12 not three thousand thistles through the thick of thy thumb"; and
- WHEREAS, Mrs. Melissa Elizabeth Thistlewood, if she were in
- 14 fact a real person, would undoubtedly join the Texas House of
- 15 Representatives in lauding the elocutionary expertise and
- 16 pronouncedly proficient pronunciation with which our reading
- 17 clerks have read this resolution and thousands of other legislative
- documents in the course of the 78th Legislative Session, and it is
- 19 to be hoped they will accept this good-natured tribute as an
- 20 expression of deepest appreciation and esteem from the members of
- 21 this chamber; now, therefore, be it
- 22 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas
- 23 Legislature hereby honor T. C. Turner and Shannon Steward for their
- 24 dedicated service as reading clerks and extend to them warmest best
- 25 wishes for continued success and happiness in all their future
- 26 endeavors; and, be it further
- 27 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be

- 1 prepared for this dynamic duo as an expression of highest regard by
- 2 the Texas House of Representatives.

Edwards

Craddick Geren Mercer Allen Giddings Merritt Alonzo Goodman Miller Bailey Goolsby Moreno of Harris Griggs Baxter Moreno of El Paso Berman Grusendorf Morrison Guillen Bohac Mowery Naishtat Bonnen Gutierrez Haggerty Branch Nixon Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Hamilton Noriega Hamric Oliveira Hardcastle Olivo Burnam Harper-Brown Callegari Paxton Campbell Hartnett Pena Heflin Canales Phillips Hegar Pickett Capelo Hilderbran Pitts Casteel Castro Hill Puente Quintanilla Hochberg Chavez Chisum Hodge Raymond Christian Homer Reyna Riddle Coleman Норе Cook of Navarro Hopson Ritter Cook of Colorado Howard Rodriguez Corte Hughes Rose Crabb Hunter Seaman Crownover Smith of Tarrant Hupp Davis of Harris Smith of Harris Isett Jones of Lubbock Jones of Bexar Jones of Dallas Davis of Dallas Smithee Dawson Solis Delisi Solomons Keel Stick Denny Deshotel Keffer of Dallas Swinford Keffer of Eastland Driver Talton Dukes King Taylor Kolkhorst Dunnam Telford Dutton Krusee Thompson Edwards Kuempel Truitt Laney Eiland Turner Eissler Laubenberg Uresti Elkins Lewis Van Arsdale Ellis Luna Villarreal West Escobar Mabry Wilson Farabee Madden Farrar Marchant Wise Martinez Fischer Wohlgemuth Flores McCall Wolens Flynn McClendon Gallego Wong Woolley Garza McReynolds Gattis Menendez Zedler

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2024 was adopted by the House on June 2, 2003, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House