By: Bivins

S.C.R. No. 17

## 1

## CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

2 WHEREAS, The Legislature of the State of Texas is pleased to 3 recognize the artists and arts patrons who are being honored at the 4 Texas Medal of Arts Awards on March 25, 2003; and

WHEREAS, The awards honor Texans who have distinguished 5 6 themselves in a variety of artistic disciplines or who have 7 promoted the arts through their patronage; Governor and Mrs. Rick Perry, Lieutenant Governor David Dewhurst, and Speaker of the House 8 of Representatives and Mrs. Tom Craddick are the honorary co-chairs 9 of the event, which is taking place at the historic Paramount 10 Theatre in Austin and includes special performances and tributes to 11 12 the honorees; and

WHEREAS, The following outstanding artists are receiving medals for their contributions to the arts: John Graves, lifetime achievement; Tommy Tune, dance; Charley Pride, music; Fess Parker, film; Sandra Cisneros, literary arts; Glenna Goodacre, visual arts; Enid Holm, theater; and Lydia Mendoza, folk arts; and

18 WHEREAS, Receiving medals for their exemplary support of the 19 arts are Dealey Herndon, architectural restoration; Marca Lee 20 Bircher, arts education; Nancy B. Hamon, individual arts patron; 21 ExxonMobil Corporation, corporate arts patron; and Houston 22 Endowment, Incorporated, foundation arts patron; and

23 WHEREAS, The arts are an important economic and cultural 24 component of a free and democratic society, and the artists and arts

1

patrons honored with the Texas Medal of Arts Awards have enriched the lives of all Texans by their many contributions; now, therefore, be it

S.C.R. No. 17

4 RESOLVED, That the 78th Legislature of the State of Texas 5 hereby commend these outstanding individuals and institutions and 6 extend congratulations to them on receiving a Texas Medal of Arts 7 Award; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this resolution be prepared for them
as an expression of esteem from the Texas Legislature.