SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 6

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize the Rosebud-Lott Cougars for winning the Class 2A-Division II football state championship; and

WHEREAS, Playing in Waco before 12,300 spectators, the Cougars vanquished the Cisco Lobos 34-0 to take the top football honors in their division; the Cougars' victory marked their first state title and their second appearance in a title game; and

WHEREAS, The Cougars' simple and sound game plan, coupled with their solid defense, led to their complete routing of the Lobos; and

WHEREAS, After a scoreless first quarter, the game changed dramatically in the second quarter on two plays within a 17-second span; by halftime the Cougars were ahead of the Lobos 13-0, and with 39 seconds left in the third quarter, a 38-yard run by a Cougar player helped ensure his team's solid victory over the Lobos; and

WHEREAS, The Rosebud-Lott Cougars have demonstrated awesome talent and perseverance throughout the season, ending the year with a 15-1 record; the team players, coaches, and managers deserve to be proud of their efforts and outstanding performance; and

WHEREAS, Under the superior leadership and expertise of head coach Bill Baine and assistant coaches Dan Wasik, Dennis Sterry, Keith Klaus, Kenny Driska, Matt Fitzsimmons, and John Reason, the Cougars have played remarkably well as a team and have achieved their goals; and

WHEREAS, The Rosebud-Lott Cougars' roster consists of Jamond Johnson, Chris Vrana, Josh Travis, Byron Thomas, Josh Salazar, Jordan Parcus, Taylor Thornton, Marcus Buhl, Brett Bailey, Clayton Hoelscher, Justin Goolsby, Jarvis Davis, Eric Woodruff, Kevin Brooks, Andrew Hoelscher, Tovoris House, Eric Halfmann, Torin Green, Kevin Sell, Joe Hrabal, Kenneth Travis, Anthony Brown, Jeremy Thornton, James Davis, Ben Frei, Maurice Cummings, Larry Portillo, Jason Schneider, Justin Portillo, Don Dunn, Russell Coker, Richard Coker, Daniel Castilleja, Ray Chapel, Lance Pomykal, Cal Marshall, Marcellis Cummings, Jimmy Meyer, Ricky Mitchell, Eric King, Lance Wolf, Alex Portillo, and Austin Wright; and

WHEREAS, The cities of Rosebud and Lott take great pride in the Cougars, who have demonstrated exceptional skills and have practiced the highest ideals of sportsmanship; they have brought great honor to their school and their community; now, therefore, be it

S.R. No. 6

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 78th Legislature, hereby commend the Rosebud-Lott Cougars for their superior accomplishments; and, be it further

 ${\tt RESOLVED}$, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for them as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Averitt

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on January 14, 2003.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate