SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 20

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas recognizes the importance of ensuring the health and well-being of newborn Texans and wishes to declare the week of February 2 through February 8, 2003, as Texas Newborn Babies Week; and

WHEREAS, It is of critical importance that the Texas public have access to proper prenatal and neonatal health care since early health care is important to an individual's long-term health; and

WHEREAS, Texas ranks second highest among the states for the number of teen mothers age 15 to 19, and adolescent mothers and their babies are more likely to experience barriers to health care; and

WHEREAS, Texas ranks fifth highest among the states for the percentage of women who receive late or no prenatal care, a critical period in an infant's development; the state also ranks in the bottom one-sixth of states for the percentage of children living in poverty; and

WHEREAS, Based upon the national rate, it is estimated that 600 children with fetal alcohol syndrome--a 100 percent preventable condition--are born each year in Texas; and

WHEREAS, Texas Newborn Babies Week will help focus the public's attention on the importance of prenatal and infant care, the risks of drinking alcohol during pregnancy, and the need for improved access to health services for expectant and new mothers; and

WHEREAS, By educating the public on the need for and availability of prenatal care, and on the need for responsible behavior during pregnancy, Texas Newborn Babies Week will help ensure the health of the youngest of our Texas citizens; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 78th Legislature, hereby designate the week of February 2 through 8, 2003, as Texas Newborn Babies Week and extend best wishes to those organizing this campaign; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared in honor of this important public health initiative.

Wentworth

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on January 21, 2003.

Secretary of the Senate