SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 30

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize the Calvert High School football team for winning the six-man state football championship; and

WHEREAS, The Trojans captured their title after defeating the Sanderson High School Eagles in an exciting comeback victory on December 14, 2002, at Angelo State's Stadium; and

on December 14, 2002, at Angelo State's Stadium; and
WHEREAS, At halftime, the Trojans were trailing the
Eagles 32-0, but they came roaring back in the second half and
overcame Sanderson with a final score of 51-46; and

WHEREAS, The team's success is a tribute to the talent, practice, and dedication of its players; this year's roster consists of Herbert Kinney, Darius Smith, Chris Ford, Greg Ford, Sammy Wells, Deuantay Green, Torre Grimes, Joske Bowen, Tijon Green, Brandon Stewart, Brian Ford, Randall Green, Jay Green, Lionel Melton, James Ashley, Tranquille Kinney, Corey Gibson, Mario Smith, and Dekesselar Ford; and

WHEREAS, The Trojans were led to their ultimate prize through the inspired leadership and patience of their head coach, Coylin Grimes, who was ably assisted by the assistant coach, Randy Boley, and the team managers, Kiemon Council, Kasey Burnett, and Javion Council; and

WHEREAS, This exemplary group of young men and their coaches and staff have been a source of tremendous pride to the students and faculty at Calvert High School and to their supporters in the community, and their outstanding achievements are indeed worthy of special legislative recognition; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 78th Legislature, hereby congratulate the Calvert High School football team for winning the six-man state championship and extend best wishes to the team for continued success; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for the team members and coaching staff as an expression of the high regard of the Texas Senate.

Ogden

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on January 22, 2003.

Secretary of the Senate