SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 96

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize the Eugene McDermott Scholars Program at The University of Texas at Dallas; and

WHEREAS, The McDermott Scholars Program honors the dream of Eugene McDermott, a cofounder of Texas Instruments who envisioned a great university for the Dallas area and who firmly believed in the vital importance of highly educated leaders; and

WHEREAS, This outstanding program is designed to motivate some of Texas' most gifted students to pursue a university education in this state; the program also seeks top students from other states and countries; participants are selected on the basis of their commitment to educational excellence, service, and leadership on the campus and in the community; and

WHEREAS, McDermott Scholars are taught by senior faculty and pursue independent studies and field work comparable in many ways to graduate study; through their involvement in specially designed extracurricular activities, they gain experiences that shape them for the rest of their lives; and

WHEREAS, Educating future leaders who will be knowledgeable in the arts and sciences, who have an understanding of the business world, and who are enriched with a deep sense of civic responsibility is a laudable goal for a university; this program provides superb educational opportunities and leadership training and is a true gift to the future of Texas: now, therefore, be it

and is a true gift to the future of Texas; now, therefore, be it RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 78th Legislature, hereby commend the Eugene McDermott Scholars Program as a model for educating leaders for the 21st century and extend congratulations to the McDermott Scholars visiting the State Capitol on February 6, 2003; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Shapiro

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on February 3, 2003.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate