## SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 97

In Memory of Rick D. Husband William C. McCool Michael P. Anderson David M. Brown Kalpana Chawla Laurel B. Clark Ilan Ramon

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas joins citizens across the state and nation in mourning the loss of the Space Shuttle Columbia and her crew on February 1, 2003; and

WHEREAS, While the world watched, seven of its bravest citizens met their deaths in the shuttle's sudden disintegration, and words cannot express the depth of the shock and sorrow people around the globe now feel; and

WHEREAS, Knowing the dangers of their mission, these astronauts sought to bring home to earth scientific data that would one day serve to further our knowledge of space and help to solve medical problems and other complexities faced by the world today; and

WHEREAS, Liftoff for the Space Shuttle Columbia was January 16, 2003, and its 16-day mission was dedicated to research in physical, life, and space sciences; experiments were conducted that would shed light on the effect of dust on global warming, the evolution of life in the universe, weightlessness, cancer, and a host of other issues of worldwide concern; and

WHEREAS, Columbia's crew consisted of Commander Rick D. Husband, Pilot William C. McCool, Payload Commander Michael P. Anderson, Mission Specialist David M. Brown, Mission Specialist Kalpana Chawla, Mission Specialist Laurel B. Clark, and Payload Specialist Ilan Ramon; and

WHEREAS, Exploration is a vital part of our nation's character, and NASA and the astronauts bring us closer to solving the mysteries of the universe through the exploration of space; although the tragedy of the Space Shuttle Columbia has shaken our country, our commitment to the space program is firm, and we will persevere to fulfill the dreams of those who died on Mission STS-107; and

WHEREAS, The astronauts of the Space Shuttle Columbia assumed great risk in a mission on behalf of all humanity, and their uncommon courage and heroism will forever be remembered by

S.R. No. 97

generations of Texans and by a nation that now mourns the loss of some of its brightest and most talented citizens; now, therefore, be it

**RESOLVED**, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 78th Legislature, hereby express its greatest admiration for the seven noble astronauts who lost their lives on the Space Shuttle Columbia and extend deepest condolences to their families and friends and to all the NASA community; and, be it further

**RESOLVED,** That a copy of this Resolution be prepared in honor of the crew of the Space Shuttle Columbia and that when the Senate adjourns this day, it do so in their memory.

Jackson

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on February 3, 2003, by a rising vote.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate