## SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 127

WHEREAS, The Texas Senate is proud to welcome the members of Leadership Waxahachie to the State Capitol on this day, February 11, 2003; and

WHEREAS, Leadership Waxahachie, a program initiated by the city's chamber of commerce in 1991, enables participants to learn more about the industry, history, and culture of Waxahachie, as well as their roles as city leaders; and

WHEREAS, The group is afforded the opportunity to work with numerous representatives of city, school district, and civic organizations, assisting them in reaching goals and setting targets for improvement; and WHEREAS, The 2002-2003 members of Leadership Waxahachie

WHEREAS, The 2002-2003 members of Leadership Waxahachie include Phil Blevins, Theresa Choate, Brian Ford, Caroline Ford, Brian Lance, Missy Phillips, Michael Scott, Patrick Sullivan, and John Wray, and the group's committee chairs are past participants D'Anne Harrington and Rick Beer; joining them on their visit to Austin is Melissa Morrison-Ballard, who chairs the board of the Waxahachie Chamber of Commerce; and

WHEREAS, The Leadership Waxahachie program encourages and empowers citizens to strive for success and to be actively involved in their community, and all those participating in and sponsoring this commendable endeavor are most deserving of special legislative praise; now, therefore, be it

**RESOLVED**, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 78th Legislature, hereby commend Leadership Waxahachie for its significant contributions to the betterment of Texas; and, be it further

**RESOLVED,** That an official copy of this Resolution be prepared for this organization as an expression of high regard by the Texas Senate.

Averitt

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on February 11, 2003.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate