SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 142

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize the Richardson Telecom Corridor and to proclaim February 17 and 18, 2003, as Richardson Telecom Corridor Legislative Day; and

WHEREAS, Richardson is a suburban city north of Dallas, and its Telecom Corridor encompasses one of the highest concentrations of leading-edge telecommunications and technology-based companies in the world; and

WHEREAS, Nearly 70,000 daytime employees work in the Telecom Corridor, and with an additional 40,000 new jobs forecast by 2010, the corridor is predicted to become the second largest employment center in the Dallas/Fort Worth Metroplex; and

WHEREAS, The history of the Telecom Corridor can be traced to 1956, when Texas Instruments located its corporate campus at the intersection of US 75 and the Lyndon B. Johnson Freeway; a year later, Collins Radio, a well-established electronics company from Cedar Rapids, Iowa, built its first building of a multi-building campus on a 400-acre site nearby; and

WHEREAS, The establishment of these two companies attracted a cadre of talented engineers and led to the growth of a number of new technology-based enterprises; deregulation of the telecommunications industry in the 1980s further accelerated the growth of technology-based companies in the corridor; and

WHEREAS, Richardson citizens are rightfully proud of the existence of the Telecom Corridor, which has made the city the home to some of the nation's leading technology-based companies; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 78th Legislature, hereby commend the Richardson Telecom Corridor for its positive impact on North Texas, and extend best wishes to the Richardson delegation on this special occasion; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for the Richardson Telecom Corridor as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Shapiro

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on February 18, 2003.

Secretary of the Senate