SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 147

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is proud to recognize the Honorable Sam Johnson, member of the United States Congress, on the 30th anniversary of his release as a Prisoner of War in Vietnam; and

WHEREAS, A member of the military for 29 years who retired as a colonel, Sam Johnson flew 62 combat missions during the Korean War; he also served his country in two tours of duty in the Vietnam War, where he helped coordinate the first B-52 strikes under General Westmoreland and flew F-4 Phantom combat missions with the 8th Tactical Fighter Wing in Thailand; and

WHEREAS, During his 25th combat mission, on April 16, 1966, Sam Johnson's plane was shot down over North Vietnam; he suffered severe injuries and was captured by the North Vietnamese; imprisoned under harsh conditions for nearly seven years, he spent 42 months in solitary confinement for refusing to provide his captors with information; and

WHEREAS, Released on February 12, 1973, Sam Johnson returned to a hero's welcome, and he was honored by his country with numerous awards, including two Purple Hearts; and

WHEREAS, Sam Johnson served the State of Texas as a member of the Texas Legislature from 1985 to 1991, when he was elected to represent Texas' Third Congressional District in the United States Congress; and

WHEREAS, A man known for his unwavering principles and his deep sense of loyalty to his country, Sam Johnson has rendered faithful service to his country as a soldier and as a public

1

S.R. No. 147

servant; he is truly deserving of legislative recognition; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 78th Legislature, hereby commend Sam Johnson for his heroism under the most challenging conditions of war and his exemplary life of service to his country and pay tribute to him on the day on which he celebrates his deliverance from the hands of the enemy; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for him as an expression of highest regard from the Texas Senate.

Shapiro

Armbrister Averitt Barrientos Bivins Brimer Carona Deuell Duncan Ellis Estes Fraser Gallegos Harris Hinojosa Jackson Janek Lindsay Lucio Madla Nelson Ogden Ratliff Shapleigh Staples Van de Putte Wentworth West Whitmire Williams Zaffirini

Dewhurst, President of the Senate

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on February 18, 2003.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate