## SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 175

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to join the residents of Van Zandt County, the Van Zandt County Choir, and the Van Zandt County officials and business leaders in declaring Wednesday, March 19, 2003, as Van Zandt County Day; and

WHEREAS, Van Zandt County was created by an enactment of the Texas Legislature on March 20, 1848; the county was named in honor of Isaac Van Zandt, an early pioneer who was a candidate for governor of Texas and who died in 1847; and

WHEREAS, Canton is the county seat; it was mapped out in 1850, incorporated in 1919, and has been named a Main Street City; it is home to the Van Zandt County Fair and the world-famous First Monday Trade Days; the city's Library of Genealogy and Local History is a collection of information about Van Zandt County and its citizens; and

WHEREAS, Edgewood, established in 1878, is known for its Edgewood Heritage Park, which is dedicated to the preservation of rural cultural and architectural history; and

WHEREAS, Edom, one of the oldest towns in the county, was established in 1856 and has within its surroundings 10 official state historical markers, many of which were researched by members of the Edom Historical Society; the town is making cultural history with its active Edom Civic Theater; and

WHEREAS, Fruitvale, established in 1903, is noted for its wooded areas and sandy land; the town has been the home of the Randall General Store since 1910; and

WHEREAS, Grand Saline, originally known as Jordan's Saline, was the first county seat of Van Zandt County; it was established in 1845 and incorporated in 1895; it was the birthplace of pioneer aviator Wiley H. Post and is home to the Morton Salt Mine, The Salt Palace, and the Veterans Memorial Wall and Park; and

Palace, and the Veterans Memorial Wall and Park; and WHEREAS, Van was established in 1891 and is noted for its oil fields and the Van Art Museum of Oil and Natural History, which recalls the boom times of the 1930s; and

WHEREAS, The community of Ben Wheeler, surrounded by natural springs and rich farmland, was named in 1876 for Van Zandt County's first mail carrier, Benjamin R. Wheeler; and

WHEREAS, Martins Mills derived its name from Dan R. Martin's gristmill and was established in 1880; the community survived destruction by tornadoes and fires and today boasts a successful school district; and

WHEREAS, Van Zandt County has a population of over 48,000 and an economy that is based on oil, tourism, and agribusiness; much of the county's annual income is from cattle, hogs, and dairy products; it is a major hay, blueberry, sweet potato, and nursery plant producer; the county has the Sabine and Neches

S.R. No. 175

rivers in its boundaries and is the gateway to Purtis Creek State Park and Lake Tawakoni State Park; and

WHEREAS, Van Zandt County unites its people and communities through the Council of Van Zandt County Communities; the council promotes various countywide activities, including the Van Zandt Relay for Life and the legislative visit to the State Capitol; Van Zandt County Day focuses on legislation affecting citizens of Van Zandt County; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 78th Legislature, hereby welcome the citizens of Van Zandt County, including its appointed and elected officials, the members of Vision 2003, and the Council of Van Zandt County Communities, and declare Wednesday, March 19, 2003, as Van Zandt County Day in Austin; and, be it further

**RESOLVED,** That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for the Van Zandt County delegation and all the citizens of the county as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Deuell

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on March 19, 2003.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate