## SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 179

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize Dr. Thomas A. Carlson for saving the life of Don Long, the Texas Senate doorkeeper; and

WHEREAS, On December 17, 2002, Don had a severe heart attack caused by a massive clot in the dominant right coronary artery; he was transported from his home to Seton Medical Center by Austin Emergency Medical Services; and

WHEREAS, Upon Don's arrival at the hospital, Dr. Carlson ordered that he be given the medication Retavase; the Retavase dissolved the clot, permitting blood to again flow through the damaged artery; this quick action resulted in minimal damage to Don's heart muscle; and

WHEREAS, Within two days, Dr. Carlson performed coronary angioplasty and inserted a stent into the artery; the doctor's sage and prompt action on December 17 saved Don's life; and

WHEREAS, Dr. Thomas A. Carlson, Fellow, American College of Cardiology, is affiliated with Austin Cardiovascular Associates; the group of highly trained specialists is in high demand for its expertise and services; and

WHEREAS, Dr. Carlson graduated from the University of Minnesota Medical School in Minneapolis and completed his residency at the United States Air Force Medical Center at Lackland Air Force Base; he is board certified in internal medicine, cardiovascular disease, and interventional cardiology; and

WHEREAS, He is also a fellow at the Texas Heart Institute, St. Luke's Episcopal Hospital in Houston, and Scripps Clinic

1

S.R. No. 179

and Research Foundation in La Jolla, California; his special interests include acute coronary syndromes, peripheral vascular disease, and intravascular brachytherapy; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 78th Legislature, hereby commend Dr. Thomas A. Carlson on his exceptional professional accomplishments and extend sincere appreciation to him for saving the life of Senate Doorkeeper Don Long; and, be it further

**RESOLVED,** That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for Dr. Carlson as an expression of appreciation and esteem from the Texas Senate.

Fraser

Armbrister Averitt Barrientos Bivins Brimer Carona Deuell Duncan Ellis Estes Gallegos Harris Hinojosa Jackson Janek Lindsay Lucio Madla Nelson Ogden Ratliff Shapiro Shapleigh Staples Van de Putte Wentworth West Whitmire Williams Zaffirini

Dewhurst, President of the Senate

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on February 20, 2003.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate