## SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 242

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize the Mansfield High School cheerleaders for winning the Super Large Varsity Division of the National Cheerleaders Association competition in December of 2002; and

WHEREAS, This was the first time the Mansfield cheerleaders participated in the national competition, and they gave their coaches and the crowd a near-flawless final performance in the event held at the Dallas Convention Center; and

WHEREAS, The Mansfield cheerleaders demonstrated talent, team unity, and the discipline instilled in them by their coaches and sponsors, Tiffany Littlejohn, Brandi Gates, and Natalie Stout, and by their advisors, Brad Vaughan and Brett Hanson; and

WHEREAS, The championship team included seniors Heather Blair, Tiffany Hayashi, Amy Moore, Tripler Roden, Missy Shipley, and Ashley Wells; juniors Hailey Bohlmann, Toni Denton, Taylor DeRossett, Tabitha Dunkerley, Heather Jones, Britany Oldham, Shay Riles, and Rachel Whitehead; sophomores Lauren Aguilera, Erica Blasingame, Brittany Butler, Katie Carpenter, Jessica Clanton, Kathleen Goodwin, Lauren Grimm, Nicole Taylor, and Ashley Weller; and freshmen Kristina LeBlanc and Kelly Nelson; and

WHEREAS, These exemplary young women are a source of tremendous pride to the students and faculty at Mansfield High School and their supporters in the community, and their outstanding achievements are truly worthy of legislative recognition; now, therefore, be it

**RESOLVED**, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 78th Legislature, hereby commend the Mansfield High School cheerleaders and congratulate them for winning the national cheerleading competition; and, be it further

**RESOLVED,** That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for them as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Brimer

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on February 25, 2003.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate