SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 248

WHEREAS, Texans place great value in the importance of education, for the future of the Lone Star State lies in the hands of our children, and they must be fully equipped with the skills needed to successfully meet the challenges that lie ahead in the 21st century; and

WHEREAS, Such success would not be possible without the commitment and enthusiasm exhibited by teachers such as those we are recognizing today, the 2003 honorees for the Texas Excellence Awards for Outstanding Teachers; and

WHEREAS, These fine educators include the Gordon Appleman Teaching Award recipient, Larry Cure, of Martin High School in Arlington; three recipients of the Lillian B. Rhodes Teaching Award, Diane Davey, of Plano Senior High School in Plano, Irene Keller, of McCollum High School in San Antonio, and Shirley Pickton, of Lincoln High School in Dallas; three recipients of the Bernard and Audre Rapoport Teaching Award, Anne Hayden, of Oak Ridge High School in Conroe, Melva Manzke, of Alamo Heights High School in San Antonio, and Charlene Serrette, of Cinco Ranch High School in Katy; the Glaxo Teaching Award recipient, Janie Head, of Foster High School in Richmond; the Mrs. Harold B. Myers Teaching Award recipient, Linda Raya, of Highland Park High School in Dallas; the Houston Texas Exes Teaching Award recipient, MaryKay Porter, of Carnegie Vanguard High School in Houston; the Verna Rogers Teaching Award recipient, Marcie McNeil, of Odom Elementary School in Austin; and the Carolyn and Mario Benitez Teacher Award recipient, Marjorie Ann Smalley, of Pillow Elementary School in Austin; and

WHEREAS, All are highly regarded professionals who have earned recognition from their peers for their proven ability to motivate students, their instructional expertise, and the cooperative manner in which they work with their colleagues and members of the administration; and

WHEREAS, Nominated by their principals, this year's honorees were selected from a large and talented field of entrants, and their receipt of this prestigious honor entitled them to attend the 2003 Conference on Texas Excellence on Education held at The University of Texas at Austin, where they were presented with a cash award of \$1,250, a specially commissioned bronze sculpture, and a Compaq computer; and

WHEREAS, Now in its 17th year, the Texas Excellence Awards program is jointly presented by The University of Texas at Austin College of Education and the Ex-Students' Association; as a recipient of a Texas Excellence Award, each of these educators has achieved a rare distinction that is deserving of legislative recognition; now, therefore, be it

S.R. No. 248

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 78th Legislature, hereby commend the recipients of the 2003 Texas Excellence Awards for Outstanding Teachers and extend to them sincere best wishes for continued success and happiness in the years to come; and, be it further

 ${\tt RESOLVED}$, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for these dedicated teachers as an expression of high regard from the Texas Senate.

Barrientos

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on February 26, 2003.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate