## SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 263

WHEREAS, Many proud residents of Duval County have gathered in Austin to celebrate Duval County Day at the State Capitol, and this notable event offers an ideal opportunity to recognize the county's many fine attributes; and

WHEREAS, Duval County was formed in 1858 and named after Burr H. Duval, who fought in the Texas Revolution and was killed in the Goliad Massacre; and

WHEREAS, The community experienced tremendous growth after the Civil War, helping to make Duval County a major sheep ranching center; in the 1870s it reportedly had more sheep than any other county of the United States; and

WHEREAS, San Diego, chosen as the county seat in 1876, was

WHEREAS, San Diego, chosen as the county seat in 1876, was the site where Father Claude Jaillet had built a 10-by-30-foot wooden church in 1867, which stood as the only place of worship between Corpus Christi and the Rio Grande; and

WHEREAS, Freer, the second largest town in the county, gained prominence in 1928, when three wildcatters in the area struck one of the nation's largest oil reserves; the discovery of oil soon turned Freer into what *Life* magazine called "the last of the tough frontier oil towns," and by 1933 it was the second largest oil field in the United States; and

WHEREAS, Residents and visitors alike enjoy the area's many annual celebrations, including the Freer Annual Rattlesnake Roundup in April; and

WHEREAS, The people of Duval County take great pride in the rich history of their community, yet are also eager to embrace the challenges and opportunities of the years to come; it gives the members of this chamber great pleasure to honor them at this time; now, therefore, be it

resolved, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas,

78th Legislature, hereby recognize March 6, 2003, as Duval County

Day at the State Capitol and extend warmest wishes to all of the county's citizens on this noteworthy occasion.

Zaffirini

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on March 6, 2003.

Member, Texas Senate

Secretary of the Senate