SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 319

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize the citizens of Gillespie County, whose airport has received the Most Improved Airport Award; and

WHEREAS, The Gillespie County Airport, with its unique Hill Country setting, provides important air transportation service in the region; it serves passengers traveling to the area for conferences, vacations, and aviation seminars; and

WHEREAS, To better serve airport customers, Gillespie County officials have augmented the Capital Improvement Plan and Terminal Programs of the Texas Department of Transportation with their own hard work, creativity, flexibility, and vision; and

WHEREAS, A new airport apron and automated fueling facility have been added to the airport, and a hotel, a restaurant, and a runway extension are a few of the new features under construction; an attractive and functional limestone terminal building was dedicated on April 10, 2002; the building offers a conference room, flight-planning facilities, a pilot's lounge, and a public area; and

WHEREAS, Eight privately owned businesses are located at the Gillespie County Airport; these establishments ably serve the flying public and also bring business and visitors to the Fredericksburg region, providing a steady source of income to the county; a business park is planned on a 24-acre tract of airport property to bring more business activity to the area; and

1

S.R. No. 319

WHEREAS, With its new improvements, the airport offers Gillespie County a modern facility that meets high industry standards; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 78th Legislature, hereby commend Gillespie County for its innovative airport and congratulate all associated with the airport on its Most Improved Airport Award; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for the people of Gillespie County as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Fraser

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on March 6, 2003.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate