SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 355

In Memory of Homer Alden Wright

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas joins the citizens of Hopewell, Virginia, in mourning the loss of Homer Alden Wright, who died February 1, 2003, at the age of 80; and

WHEREAS, Homer was born on September 1, 1922, to Robert L. and Florence Wood Wright in Kalamazoo, Michigan; and

WHEREAS, A patriotic American, Homer served his country with distinction in the United States Army during World War II and the Korean Conflict; and

WHEREAS, The recipient of a Purple Heart, Homer earned the Silver Star with First Oak Leaf Cluster, the Bronze Star, the Combat Infantryman Badge, and several other medals for his distinguished service; and

WHEREAS, Homer was an enthusiastic volunteer who set an example for others in performing public service; he was especially committed to his association with the United States Coast Guard Auxiliary, Fifth District, Southern Region; and

WHEREAS, As a member of the Coast Guard Auxiliary, he was noted for his dependability and professionalism and was highly respected by the members of Flotilla 32, the United States Coast Guard, and the recreational boating public; and

1

S.R. No. 355

WHEREAS, A man of integrity, strength, and generosity, Homer gave willingly of his time to others, and his wisdom, warmth, and valued counsel will not be forgotten by those who knew him; and

WHEREAS, Homer Wright lived his life to the fullest, and he leaves behind memories that will be treasured forever by his family and many friends; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 78th Legislature, hereby extend sincere condolences to the bereaved family of Homer Alden Wright; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for the members of his family as an expression of deepest sympathy from the Texas Senate, and that when the Senate adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Homer Alden Wright.

Wentworth

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on March 12, 2003, by a rising vote.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate