SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 397

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize the Canyon High School girls' basketball team for winning the 2003 Class 3A state championship title; and

WHEREAS, In an impressive 76-45 victory over Kountze High School, the Lady Eagles won their 10th state title; with a 32-1 record, the team went into the championship games ranked number one in the country by USA Today; and

WHEREAS, Kalee Carey, Canyon senior and future University of Texas Longhorn, scored 32 points and was named the game's most valuable player; Brooke Baughman, a Texas Tech University signee, anchored Canyon's defense and finished with 17 points, and Jordan Hampton added 15 points; the Lady Eagles' victory was the result of a total commitment by the entire team; and

WHEREAS, Throughout the season, the Lady Eagles exhibited perseverance, team unity, and respect for the highest ideals of sportsmanship; due to their talent, hard work, and the discipline instilled in them by head coach Joe Lombard and his assistants, they have been richly rewarded with a championship title; and

WHEREAS, These exemplary young women and the team's coaches and staff are a source of tremendous pride to the students and faculty at Canyon High School and its numerous supporters in the community, and they deserve legislative recognition for their outstanding accomplishment; now, therefore, be it RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas,

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 78th Legislature, hereby congratulate the members and the coaching staff of the Canyon High School girls' basketball team for winning the Class 3A state championship title and extend best wishes to them for the future; and, be it further

wishes to them for the future; and, be it further RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for them as a token of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Bivins

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on March 18, 2003.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate