SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 411

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas takes pleasure in recognizing Sulphur Springs Municipal Airport on its selection for the 2003 Airport of the Year Award by the Texas Department of Transportation Aviation Division; and

WHEREAS, The official opening of the renovated airport on May 17, 2002, was the culmination of the joint efforts of over 500 people in Sulphur Springs and Hopkins County over a five-year period of planning and preparation; and

WHEREAS, The airport hosted 5,000 visitors and 225 aircraft in a grand opening "Fly-In" in September, 2002, when the new terminal building was dedicated; and

WHEREAS, The past year was one of continuous growth and improvement at the airport; a fire safety training program was established to update the Sulphur Springs Fire Department on the types of hazardous materials particular to airport services; the painting of the runway, taxiways, and north ramp was finished, and roadways and repairs to runway lights were completed; and

WHEREAS, An emergency response team was organized in October, 2002, and included public safety and emergency medical service representatives from the City of Sulphur Springs and Hopkins County; and

WHEREAS, The airport now is a full-fledged municipal airport with its first airport board in 20 years, a student pilot training program, full hangars, and an industrial park, and all who are associated with this exceptional renovation project deserve recognition; now, therefore, be it

1

S.R. No. 411

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 78th Legislature, hereby commend all who participated in creating the new Sulphur Springs Municipal Airport and extend congratulations to them on its selection for the 2003 Airport of the Year Award; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Deuell

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on March 20, 2003.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate