## SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 465

In Memory of Gerald Wayne Fields Vincent Llyonell Davis Michael Lee DePauw Wayne Kevin Clarke

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas recognizes April 2, 2003, as Firefighters Day at the State Capitol and joins the City of Dallas in paying tribute to four Dallas firefighters who died in the line of duty in the past two years; and

WHEREAS, Gerald Wayne Fields was a resident of DeSoto, where he was actively involved in his community; a 23-year veteran of the Dallas Fire Department, he was a dedicated firefighter and was working at Fire Station 16 on March 10, 2001, when he died while on duty; he was a member of Cold Springs Church of Christ and a past president of the DeSoto Lions Club; and

WHEREAS, Vincent Llyonell Davis had worked as an architectural draftsman for the City of Dallas before becoming a firefighter in 1990; he was assigned to Fire Station 26, and he was filling in at Fire Station 33 on February 11, 2002, the day he died; he had 10 years of dedicated service with the fire department; and

WHEREAS, Michael Lee DePauw was a captain with 30 years of service to his credit; he was well known as a man who enjoyed helping others; during his off duty hours, he pursued his interests as a contractor and builder; he died on December 5, 2002, while in the line of service; and

WHEREAS, Wayne Kevin Clarke served in the United States Air Force for 20 years; he had also worked with troubled children and with a government agency that helped people in need; he joined the Dallas Fire-Rescue Department to pursue his dream of becoming a paramedic firefighter; he died on February 12, 2003; and

WHEREAS, These firefighters demonstrated exceptional dedication to duty and to their community and were beloved and respected for their courage and leadership, and their loss has been deeply felt by their families, fellow firefighters, and friends; now, therefore, be it

S.R. No. 465

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 78th Legislature, hereby join citizens across the state in commemorating the lives of Gerald Wayne Fields, Vincent Llyonell Davis, Michael Lee DePauw, and Wayne Kevin Clarke on April 2, 2003, a day when all Texans honor firefighters for their invaluable work on behalf of public safety.

West, Carona, Deuell, Harris, Shapiro

| Member,              | Texas Senate   |
|----------------------|--|
|                      |  |
|                      |  |
|                      |  |
| Member, Texas Senate | Member, Texas Senate   |
|                      |  |
| Member, Texas Senate | Member, Texas Senate   |
|                      |  |
|                      |  |
|                      | President of the Senate  |
|                      | I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on April 2, 2003, by a rising vote. |
|                      | Cogretary of the Consta  |
|                      | Secretary of the Senate  |