## SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 469

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize Dr. Gene Guinn, who has been selected as the Distinguished Houston Surgeon for 2003 by The Houston Surgical Society; and

WHEREAS, Dr. Guinn was born in Texas on March 15, 1927; he graduated from The University of Texas in 1945 and received his medical degree from the University of Tennessee in 1948; and

WHEREAS, He completed a residency in urology at Charity Hospital in New Orleans; he also completed a residency in surgery at the Baylor College of Medicine in Houston and a residency in cardiac surgery at Houston's Texas Heart Institute; and

WHEREAS, A prominent figure in the Houston medical community, Dr. Guinn has published articles in over 100 publications, and he has contributed to the medical profession through his service on numerous committees and boards; and

through his service on numerous committees and boards; and WHEREAS, A well-respected associate professor of surgery at the Baylor College of Medicine, Dr. Guinn has trained many surgical residents over the years; for nearly 15 consecutive years, he has received the residents' teaching award in the Michael E. DeBakey Department of Surgery; and

Michael E. DeBakey Department of Surgery; and
WHEREAS, Dr. Guinn's dedication to his work has made a
difference in the lives of countless students and patients, and
he has distinguished himself in his profession; and

WHEREAS, At the May 13, 2003, meeting of The Houston Surgical Society, Dr. Guinn's colleagues will honor him for his exemplary work as a surgeon; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 78th Legislature, hereby commend Dr. Gene Guinn for his many contributions to the field of medicine and congratulate him on earning the title of Distinguished Houston Surgeon for 2003; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for him as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Ellis

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on March 31, 2003.

President of the Senate

Secretary of the Senate