SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 482

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize the County and District Clerks' Association of Texas and to proclaim April 8, 2003, as County and District Clerks Day at the State Capitol; and

WHEREAS, The County and District Clerks' Association of Texas was established in 1893 to promote professional standards and to educate its members on their statutory and constitutional duties; currently, 441 individuals belong to the group; and

WHEREAS, County clerks provide support for the commissioners court and for the county courts at law in each county, and district clerks provide support for the district courts in each county; and WHEREAS, County and district clerks serve as custodians

of all court pleadings and papers that are part of any cause of action, civil or criminal, in the courts they serve; they also index and secure all court records, collect filing fees, and handle funds held in litigation and money awarded to minors; and

WHEREAS, In addition, county clerks act as the recorders and records managers for their county, work with the Bureau of Vital Statistics, and serve as election officials in most counties; district clerks oversee all aspects of a case from filing through ancillary proceedings following judgment and also receive and disburse court ordered child support; and

WHEREAS, The county and district clerks of Texas carry out their responsibilities with dedication and skill and with respect for the high standards established by the County and District Clerks' Association of Texas; now, therefore, be it **RESOLVED**, That the Senate of the State of Texas,

78th Legislature, hereby commend county and district clerks for their invaluable service to our state and extend best wishes for the future to all who participate in County and District Clerks Day at the State Capitol; and, be it further **RESOLVED**, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared as a

memento of this occasion.

Ogden

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on April 8, 2003.

Secretary of the Senate