SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 520

WHEREAS, The Duncanville High School girls' basketball team has again reached the pinnacle of success by winning the 2003 University Interscholastic League Class 5A state championship, the school's sixth title in its storied hardwood history; and

WHEREAS, Carrying the Number One Class 5A ranking into the state championship game with Georgetown High School, this remarkable Duncanville team fulfilled its lofty expectations, employing a stifling defense to overwhelm its opponent 47-27 and reclaim the coveted crown; and

WHEREAS, Duncanville's return to state dominance was a result of total dedication to the team concept by players Tammy Bartosh, April O'Neal, Jamie Barr, Jamira Armstrong, LaJeanna Howard, Rochelle Vance, Chastity McGary, Tiffany Jackson, Destanie Sykes, Ceren Unal, Morgan Williams, Mariana Mergerson, Courtney Cunningham, Jessica Henderson, and Jessica Stephenson; and

WHEREAS, Head Coach Cathy Self-Morgan provided her young charges with inspired leadership and guidance, and she was ably supported in her efforts by assistant coaches Elesha Walker, Jennifer Polk, and Bretagne Galbreath; and

WHEREAS, The team's exceptional student-athletes, with their coaches and staff, are a source of great pride to all those associated with Duncanville High School, and it is truly appropriate that the team receive special legislative recognition at this time; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 78th Legislature, hereby congratulate the members of the Duncanville High School girls' basketball team on winning the 2003 Class 5A state championship title and extend to them sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for the team members and coaching staff as an expression of high regard from the Texas Senate.

West

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on April 8, 2003.

Secretary of the Senate