SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 524

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize Felipa Solis, who has been selected as a role model for the City of El Paso by the *El Paso Times* on the occasion of Women's History Month; and

WHEREAS, Women's History Month is celebrated annually during the month of March; to honor the vital roles women play in shaping new directions and ideas in society, the national theme of Women's History Month in 2003 is "Women Pioneering the Future"; and

WHEREAS, For its selection of women who serve as role models for the City of El Paso, the *El Paso Times* invited its readers to nominate women who have made a strong impact on their family, their neighborhood, or the entire city; the many deserving women who were selected for this public recognition are genuine trailblazers in a wide variety of fields; and

whereas, Felipa Solis is well known in El Paso for anchoring the news on Channel 9-KTSM and for her dedication to promoting the health of her fellow residents; she has been involved in the Race for the Cure breast cancer project for many years as a race participant and as a speaker on behalf of cancer victims; she has also devoted her time and energy to the lifesaving work of the Diabetes Association, the American Heart Association, and the American Lung Association; and

WHEREAS, With her many gifts and talents and through her initiative and perseverance, Felipa has set a lasting standard for others to emulate; and

WHEREAS, Her worthy accomplishments and her pioneering spirit truly make Felipa an inspiration for all citizens of El Paso and a source of pride for all Texans; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 78th Legislature, hereby commend Felipa Solis on her selection as a role model for the City of El Paso; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for her as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Shapleigh

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on April 7, 2003.

Secretary of the Senate